Ebook Central is an online digital library with access to over 124,000+ scholarly ebooks. The books cover a variety of topics and can be accessed through the LLC’s online catalog. Topics covered include: anthropology, education, fine arts, computers and psychology.
A collection of E-books and resources on a wide array of subjects, including: arts and entertainment, business and economy, computer and internet, education, health, history, government and law, recreation and sports, reference, science and technology, social sciences and society and culture.
Audio Content Security: Attack Analysis on Audio Watermarking describes research using a common audio watermarking method for four different genres of music, also providing the results of many test attacks to determine the robustness of the watermarking in the face of those attacks.
Building a Practical Information Security Program provides users with a strategic view on how to build an information security program that aligns with business objectives. The information provided enables both executive management and IT managers not only to validate existing security programs, but also to build new business-driven security programs. In addition, the subject matter supports aspiring security engineers to forge a career path to successfully manage a security program, thereby adding value and reducing risk to the business. Readers learn how to translate technical challenges into business requirements, understand when to "go big or go home," explore in-depth defense strategies, and review tactics on when to absorb risks. This book explains how to properly plan and implement an infosec program based on business strategy and results.
A must-have, hands-on guide for working in the cybersecurityprofession Cybersecurity involves preventative methods to protectinformation from attacks. It requires a thorough understanding ofpotential threats, such as viruses and other malicious code, aswell as system vulnerability and security architecture. Thisessential book addresses cybersecurity strategies that includeidentity management, risk management, and incident management, andalso serves as a detailed guide for anyone looking to enter thesecurity profession. Doubling as the text for a cybersecuritycourse, it is also a useful reference for cybersecurity testing, ITtest/development, and system/network administration. Covers everything from basic network administration securityskills through advanced command line scripting, tool customization,and log analysis skills Dives deeper into such intense topics as wireshark/tcpdumpfiltering, Google hacks, Windows/Linux scripting, Metasploitcommand line, and tool customizations Delves into network administration for Windows, Linux, andVMware Examines penetration testing, cyber investigations, firewallconfiguration, and security tool customization Shares techniques for cybersecurity testing, planning, andreporting Cybersecurity: Managing Systems, Conducting Testing, andInvestigating Intrusions is a comprehensive and authoritativelook at the critical topic of cybersecurity from start tofinish.
Conquering cyber attacks requires a multi-sector, multi-modal approach Cyber Threat! How to Manage the Growing Risk of Cyber Attacks is an in-depth examination of the very real cyber security risks facing all facets of government and industry, and the various factors that must align to maintain information integrity. Written by one of the nation's most highly respected cyber risk analysts, the book describes how businesses and government agencies must protect their most valuable assets to avoid potentially catastrophic consequences. Much more than just cyber security, the necessary solutions require government and industry to work cooperatively and intelligently. This resource reveals the extent of the problem, and provides a plan to change course and better manage and protect critical information. Recent news surrounding cyber hacking operations show how intellectual property theft is now a matter of national security, as well as economic and commercial security. Consequences are far-reaching, and can have enormous effects on national economies and international relations. Aggressive cyber forces in China, Russia, Eastern Europe and elsewhere, the rise of global organized criminal networks, and inattention to vulnerabilities throughout critical infrastructures converge to represent an abundantly clear threat. Managing the threat and keeping information safe is now a top priority for global businesses and government agencies. Cyber Threat! breaks the issue down into real terms, and proposes an approach to effective defense. Topics include: The information at risk The true extent of the threat The potential consequences across sectors The multifaceted approach to defense The growing cyber threat is fundamentally changing the nation's economic, diplomatic, military, and intelligence operations, and will extend into future technological, scientific, and geopolitical influence. The only effective solution will be expansive and complex, encompassing every facet of government and industry. Cyber Threat! details the situation at hand, and provides the information that can help keep the nation safe.
As the number of Internet-based consumer transactions continues to rise, the need to protect these transactions against hacking becomes more and more critical. An effective approach to securing information on the Internet is to analyze the signature of attacks in order to build a defensive strategy. This book explains how to accomplish this using honeypots and routers. It discusses honeypot concepts and architecture as well as the skills needed to deploy the best honeypot and router solutions for any network environment. Honeypots and Routers: Collecting Internet Attacks begins by providing a strong grounding in the three main areas involved in Internet security: Computer networks: technologies, routing protocols, and Internet architecture Information and network security: concepts, challenges, and mechanisms System vulnerability levels: network, operating system, and applications The book then details how to use honeypots to capture network attacks. A honeypot is a system designed to trap an adversary into attacking the information systems in an organization. The book describes a technique for collecting the characteristics of the Internet attacks in honeypots and analyzing them so that their signatures can be produced to prevent future attacks. It also discusses the role of routers in analyzing network traffic and deciding whether to filter or forward it. The final section of the book presents implementation details for a real network designed to collect attacks of zero-day polymorphic worms. It discusses the design of a double-honeynet system architecture, the required software tools, and the configuration process using VMware. With the concepts and skills you learn in this book, you will have the expertise to deploy a honeypot solution in your network that can track attackers and provide valuable information about their source, tools, and tactics.
"This evidence-based book provides the framework and guidelines that professionals need for working with the contemporary explosion of data that is creating opportunities and challenges to all phases of our society and commerce." -Larry R. Medsker, Research Professor in Physics and Data Science, The George Washington University Knowledge Management in Practice is a resource on how knowledge management (KM) is implemented. It provides specific KM methods, tips, techniques, and best practices to gain competitive advantage and the most from investing in KM. It examines how KM is leveraged by first responders, the military, healthcare providers, insurance and financial services companies, legal firms, human resources departments, merger and acquisition (M&A) firms, and research institutions. Essential KM concepts are explored not only from a foundational perspective but also from a practical application. These concepts include capturing and codifying tacit and explicit knowledge, KM methods, information architecture, search, KM and social media, KM and Big Data, and the adoption of KM. Readers can visit the book's companion website, KM Mentor (www.KMMentor.com), where they can access: Presentations by industry leaders on a variety of topics KM templates and instruction on executing KM strategy, performing knowledge transfer, and KM assessments and audits KM program and project implementation guidance Insights and reviews on KM tools Guidance on implementing and executing various KM Methods Specialized KM publications A private secure collaboration community for members to discuss ideas and get expert answers and advice
This book explores the relationships between knowledge management (KM) processes and innovation management. The geographical extension of markets and intensification of competition have led firms to experiment with novel approaches to innovation. New organizational forms emerged in which firms collaborate with various stakeholders to create, absorb, integrate and protect knowledge. This book explores how knowledge management processes evolve with firms' implementation of interactive, collaborative and open innovation models and it identifies the various knowledge types and processes involved throughout the different phases of the innovation process. The authors provide operational typologies for understanding innovative firms' capabilities and knowledge management practices and also discuss the main properties of four models of interactive innovation, namely open innovation, user-centric innovation, community-based innovation and crowdsourcing.
Successes and Failures of Knowledge Management highlights examples from across multiple industries, demonstrating where the practice has been implemented well--and not so well--so others can learn from these cases during their knowledge management journey. Knowledge management deals with how best to leverage knowledge both internally and externally in organizations to improve decision-making and facilitate knowledge capture and sharing. It is a critical part of an organization's fabric, and can be used to increase innovation, improve organizational internal and external effectiveness, build the institutional memory, and enhance organizational agility. Starting by establishing KM processes, measures, and metrics, the book highlights ways to be successful in knowledge management institutionalization through learning from sample mistakes and successes. Whether an organization is already implementing KM or has been reluctant to do so, the ideas presented will stimulate the application of knowledge management as part of a human capital strategy in any organization.
The European Library is an internet portal which offers access to the combined resources of the 45 national libraries of Europe. It offers free searching and can deliver digital objects - some free, some priced.
Provides access to ArticleFirst, ECO, and WorldCat, the most comprehensive, worldwide bibliographic resource available. Note: This is a database subscription, and only one database user can access this at a time.
This project gives access to several world library catalogs, and will make the full text of the book available online when it is out of copyright. The most comprehensive, worldwide bibliographic resource available.