These databases and resources provide open access to their contents.
Free computer science citation database with some full text available. Lists the most frequently cited authors and documents in computer science, as well as impact ratings. Also provides algorithms, metadata, services, techniques, and software.
Repository of computer science papers made available through through the partnership of ACM, ArXiv e-print archive, and NCSTRL (Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library).
The leading review service for books and articles across all disciplines of computing.
This service provides open bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings.
Stay up to date with technology products and services by browsing the Find White Papers Research Library.
The Science of Security (SoS) Initiative at the National Security Agency Research Directorate promotes foundational cybersecurity science that is needed to mature the cybersecurity discipline and to underpin advances in cyberdefense.
CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research worldwide and deliver unrestricted access for all.
The originator of Digital Commons, BePress (Berkeley Electronic Press) makes it possible for academic institutions to develop repositories of scholarly works. Search the entire Digital Commons Network containing more than a million documents from over 330 institutions.
University institutional repository of scholarly materials including: electronic theses, technical reports, books, conference papers, and oral histories from the Caltech archives.
"From the Library of Congress, digitized newspapers from 1836-1922 can be browsed and searched by state, keyword or advanced search. Additional links are available to a newspaper title directory for publications from 1690 – present.
University of Michigan's institutional repository of scholarly documents produced by UM faculty and graduate across a range of subject areas, with more than 24,000 full-text documents in Health Sciences.
"A central, open access repository for the scholarly output of faculty and the broader research community at Harvard."
Brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
Brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. Search and scan through the united collection of millions of items, including by timeline, map, virtual bookshelf, format, subject, and partner.
DSpace is a open access platform for developing and managing an institutional repository of digital documents, images, and multimedia. Hundreds of universities around the world use DSpace, as well as many other types of institutions. On this directory page, you can search for a repository or browse by location or type of institution. Top universities include MIT, Cambridge, Harvard and more.
An online index of more than 9,000 open access journals from 13 countries. Many journals are peer-reviewed. Journals and articles can be browsed or searched by keyword or advanced search options.
Searches the eScholarship Repository (working papers, research, technical reports, etc.) of the University of California.
HathiTrust makes the digitized collections of some of the nation’s great research libraries available for all. HathiTrust has partnerships with over 90 institutions providing more than a million open access.
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download.
One of the largest publishers of peer-reviewed, fully open-access journals in the Arab world.
PLoS publishes a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine. Rigorously reported, peer reviewed and immediately available without restrictions, promoting the widest readership and impact possible.
The OpenCourseWare (OCW) movement began in the United States with the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2002. This movement is university-driven, and is focused on making the educational course materials that have been created by faculty available outside of the institution. The materials available vary by course, professor and even semester posed. Materials can include syllabi, written lectures, assignments, readings, videotaped lectures, and audio lectures.
This is not a complete list, and this list will be periodically updated.
Open Educational Resource repositories listed here cover a wide variety of educational disciplines and education levels. This is not a complete list, and this list will be periodically updated.
MERLOT: Science and Technology
Thousands of OER materials provided by MERLOT related to science and technology.
OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks related to computer science.
Thousands of OER resources relevant to science and technology.
The University of Minnesota's Open Textbook Library includes a number of computer science and information systems titles.
Canadiana.org is a coalition of members dedicated to providing broad access to Canada's documentary heritage. Through our membership alliance, Canadian libraries share tools and capacity, partner on open-source projects, and spearhead digital preservation in Canada.
Gateway to European cultural assets, through this one site you can search for artworks, cultural items, archival collections from participating institutions all around Europe. This site is a gateway, and once you have selected the items you want you will be redirected to the website of the institution that owns the item.
Free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community. MERLOT was opened in 1997 and is supported by the California State University System.
The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) performs a simultaneous search across 19 different sources of open educational materials. Because it is a real-time, federated search, it can take a bit longer than searches of pre-indexed, curated content; however, as compensation the results returned are absolutely up-to-the-minute for each search target. Additional results will continue to trickle in as the search continues running and you begin examining your results.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 97 different sources and contains 385,629 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
Curating best in class learning materials from around the world since 2007. The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls from multiple OER collections, including MERLOT and Connexions. It is a great first step in an OER search, but often more results can be found by searching the specific collection.
Includes lectures, assignments, and written educational materials. Content can be created in the Connexions interface and housed within the Connections servers. Users can create collections of existing content and create their own content pages to share.
Site designed to help you understand the OER movement and find OER. They have links for finding textbooks, content, images and video, as well as stories from faculty who have adopted OER in their classrooms.
Online library of openly available instructional resources for Florida's educators. The Orange Grove does not house content, but is a collection of links to other content. Only Florida educators are allowed to have registered accounts, but anyone can search for and use content linked in the Grove. Some resources are only available to registered users. This site is predominantly focused on K-12 content but there are links to content useful for introductory courses.
Online journal and not-for-profit project dedicated "to the exploration of curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas." The project specifically focuses on works that are in the public domain, and therefore available for inclusion in courses as open educational resources.
A non-profit organization sponsored by the Saylor Foundation, they are focused on bringing "freely available education to all." Founded in 1999 by Michael Saylor, they have created online courses curated from open content found on the Web. The courses are marketed toward students who just want to learn, and are working on some methods for offering credentials. For faculty, Saylor is a great site to start your search for OER by subject.