CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research worldwide and deliver unrestricted access for all.
The originator of Digital Commons, BePress (Berkeley Electronic Press) makes it possible for academic institutions to develop repositories of scholarly works. Search the entire Digital Commons Network containing more than a million documents from over 330 institutions.
University institutional repository of scholarly materials including: electronic theses, technical reports, books, conference papers, and oral histories from the Caltech archives.
"From the Library of Congress, digitized newspapers from 1836-1922 can be browsed and searched by state, keyword or advanced search. Additional links are available to a newspaper title directory for publications from 1690 – present.
University of Michigan's institutional repository of scholarly documents produced by UM faculty and graduate across a range of subject areas, with more than 24,000 full-text documents in Health Sciences.
"A central, open access repository for the scholarly output of faculty and the broader research community at Harvard."
Brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
Brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. Search and scan through the united collection of millions of items, including by timeline, map, virtual bookshelf, format, subject, and partner.
DSpace is a open access platform for developing and managing an institutional repository of digital documents, images, and multimedia. Hundreds of universities around the world use DSpace, as well as many other types of institutions. On this directory page, you can search for a repository or browse by location or type of institution. Top universities include MIT, Cambridge, Harvard and more.
An online index of more than 9,000 open access journals from 13 countries. Many journals are peer-reviewed. Journals and articles can be browsed or searched by keyword or advanced search options.
Searches the eScholarship Repository (working papers, research, technical reports, etc.) of the University of California.
HathiTrust makes the digitized collections of some of the nation’s great research libraries available for all. HathiTrust has partnerships with over 90 institutions providing more than a million open access.
This free table of contents searching service by JournalTOC searches over 24,000 scholarly journal table of contents allowing you to find recent and authoritative information on your search topic. When you find a citation for a useful article, use NCU Library’s Find a Resource to see if we subscribe to this publication and to view the full text, or submit an Interlibrary Loan request.
Explore academic content on JSTOR that is open to everyone, everywhere. Search thousands of free journal articles and open access book chapters.
hosted by OCLC, who also maintains Wordcat.org, this database is a cooperative open library catalog of over 30 million records from more than 1,500 sources. Users can use advanced search features to search open access resources in full-text through this one, easy to use search interface
Holdings of freely available, full-text social science documents.
Open repository of abstracts for working papers and forthcoming publications in all areas of social sciences, with an Electronic Paper Collection of full-text documents. Organized by Research Network subject areas for browsing or searching.
ANU Press is a globally recognized leader in open-access academic publishing. We produce fully peer-reviewed monographs and journals across a wide range of subject areas, with a special focus on Australian and international policy, Indigenous studies and the Asia-Pacific region.
BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download.
One of the largest publishers of peer-reviewed, fully open-access journals in the Arab world.
Open Biology is an online journal that welcomes original, high impact research in cell and developmental biology, molecular and structural biology, biochemistry, neuroscience, immunology, microbiology and genetics.
OHP is an international community of scholars, editors and readers with a focus on critical and cultural theory. They have operated as a independent volunteer initiative since 2006, promoting open access scholarship in journals, books and exploring new forms of scholarly communication.
The Open Library of the Humanities journal publishes internationally-leading, rigorous and peer-reviewed scholarship across the humanities disciplines: from classics, theology and philosophy, to modern languages and literatures, film and media studies, anthropology, political theory and sociology.
PeerJ is a peer-reviewed & Open Access journal publishing primary research and reviews in biology, life sciences, environmental sciences, and medicine.
PLoS publishes a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine. Rigorously reported, peer reviewed and immediately available without restrictions, promoting the widest readership and impact possible.
Royal Society Open Science is a new open journal publishing high-quality original research across the entire range of science on the basis of objective peer-review. The journal covers the entire range of science and mathematics and allows the Society to publish all the high-quality work it receives without the usual restrictions on scope, length or impact.
SpringerOpen, launched in June 2010, includes Springer’s portfolio of 200+ peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science.
Open access journals available from Taylor & Francis Online.
Wiley Open Access publishes authoritative peer reviewed open access journals across many research disciplines.
Digitized index of nearly 100,000 dissertations from 1933 to 1955.
Available only in Portuguese.
Search engine especially for academic web resources.
Brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
Since July 1998 the German National Library has collected online dissertations and post-doctoral theses. Available only in German.
A free database with records for more than 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations from around the world.
Access to the full text of electronically over 350,000 doctoral theses from the United Kingdom.
Find dissertations/theses using the Publication Type filter during a search.
Portal for accessing full text electronic dissertations and theses from several Latin American countries. Available only in Spanish
Full text dissertations completed at African and French universities. Available only in French
Includes South African dissertations and theses.
Includes publicly accessible NPS Theses, Dissertations, MBA Professional Reports, Joint Applied Projects and other NPS degree-earning written works. Note: This collection is also available in the Homeland Security Digital Library database.
Gathers information about documents stored in research repositories from around New Zealand, and assembles them in one database. Includes doctoral and masters theses.
Index of over 1.6 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.
With PQDT Open, you can read the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.
Thousands of journal articles, conference papers, and thesis and dissertations distributed by several Portuguese repositories. Available only in Portuguese
Available only in French.
Acquires and preserves a comprehensive collection of electronic and microfiche Canadian theses.
Explore collections from Australian libraries, universities, museums, galleries, and archives. Includes search filters for locating theses.
service of OAPEN Foundation based at the National Library in The Hague. Database contains more than 5,000 academic, peer-reviewed books from 163 publishers.
Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.
Partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine with more than 8,500 titles in PDF format.
Provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN) Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.
Founded in 2008 by a small group of academics at the University of Cambridge, Open Book Publishers publishes monographs and textbooks in the Humanities and Social Sciences. All books are available to read for free online.
Offers over 53,000 free ebooks, most of which are primary source texts: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
Watch free lecture videos covering many disciplines from the world’s top universities.
Teacher resources including a collection of video programs in subjects such as art, foreign language, literature/language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies/history.
Offers 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories, which date back to 1895.
Educational video search platform that organizes the best free online educational videos, and make them easy for you to find, watch and download. Browse by category, type, educational level, length, top 100, or most popular.
Includes streaming full-episode videos of many shows featured on the History channel.
Digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
Math, science, computer programming, technology, and many more free online learning lessons and videos.
Online archive of free, video-on-demand multimedia resources for the public and for educators.
Video subject categories include biography, business/economy, diversity, health/science/technology, foreign affairs/defense, government/public policy, media literacy, and religion.
Includes White House recordings, presidential oral history interviews, and additional audio and video recordings and documents related to the executive branch of American government.
Offers high-quality video content from a collection of over 10,000 free independent movies and documentaries.
TED-Ed videos makes short video lessons worth sharing, aimed at educators and students.
Ted Talks include over 17,000 short (3-18 minute long) conference-style presentation videos about a variety of topics.
Academic videos from University YouTube channels, TED and TEDx talks, scientific and cultural institutions like NASA and the Smithsonian’s National Museum of Natural History, hospitals, research institutions, and broadcast archives such as Nova, the Science Channel and the Discovery Channel.
Free online lecture videos from public media powerhouse WGBH.
Online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH.
C-SPAN is a private, non-profit public service of the cable television industry.
Official YouTube channel of the U.S. Government, linking you to videos across government.
Features videos on a wide range of global topics including current news, peace and security, social and economic development, human rights and climate change.