Open Educational Resource repositories listed here cover a wide variety of educational disciplines and education levels. This is not a complete list, and this list will be periodically updated.
Canadiana.org is a coalition of members dedicated to providing broad access to Canada's documentary heritage. Through our membership alliance, Canadian libraries share tools and capacity, partner on open-source projects, and spearhead digital preservation in Canada.
Gateway to European cultural assets, through this one site you can search for artworks, cultural items, archival collections from participating institutions all around Europe. This site is a gateway, and once you have selected the items you want you will be redirected to the website of the institution that owns the item.
Free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community. MERLOT was opened in 1997 and is supported by the California State University System.
The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) performs a simultaneous search across 19 different sources of open educational materials. Because it is a real-time, federated search, it can take a bit longer than searches of pre-indexed, curated content; however, as compensation the results returned are absolutely up-to-the-minute for each search target. Additional results will continue to trickle in as the search continues running and you begin examining your results.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 97 different sources and contains 385,629 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
Curating best in class learning materials from around the world since 2007. The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls from multiple OER collections, including MERLOT and Connexions. It is a great first step in an OER search, but often more results can be found by searching the specific collection.
Includes lectures, assignments, and written educational materials. Content can be created in the Connexions interface and housed within the Connections servers. Users can create collections of existing content and create their own content pages to share.
Site designed to help you understand the OER movement and find OER. They have links for finding textbooks, content, images and video, as well as stories from faculty who have adopted OER in their classrooms.
Online library of openly available instructional resources for Florida's educators. The Orange Grove does not house content, but is a collection of links to other content. Only Florida educators are allowed to have registered accounts, but anyone can search for and use content linked in the Grove. Some resources are only available to registered users. This site is predominantly focused on K-12 content but there are links to content useful for introductory courses.
Online journal and not-for-profit project dedicated "to the exploration of curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas." The project specifically focuses on works that are in the public domain, and therefore available for inclusion in courses as open educational resources.
A non-profit organization sponsored by the Saylor Foundation, they are focused on bringing "freely available education to all." Founded in 1999 by Michael Saylor, they have created online courses curated from open content found on the Web. The courses are marketed toward students who just want to learn, and are working on some methods for offering credentials. For faculty, Saylor is a great site to start your search for OER by subject.
The OpenCourseWare (OCW) movement began in the United States with the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2002. This movement is university-driven, and is focused on making the educational course materials that have been created by faculty available outside of the institution. The materials available vary by course, professor and even semester posed. Materials can include syllabi, written lectures, assignments, readings, videotaped lectures, and audio lectures.
This is not a complete list, and this list will be periodically updated.
The Open Textbook movement focuses on the creation of books that are built specifically for use as free or low-cost options for education. Many of the collections will have links to the same books, but each repository has a particular focus, and items you can't find in other collections. This is not a complete list, and this list will be periodically updated.
This site includes texts written specifically for the BC OpenTextbook initiative, as well as books from other sources.
This site is a clearinghouse of links to books hosted in various locations, and includes a large selection of international textbooks.
GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary material. Each document is classified by its Creative Commons license. You are allowed to reuse, redistribute, revise, remix, and retain these documents with particular restrictions.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Lumen provides open courses in a variety of high-demand subjects and disciplines. These courses are collections of high-quality OER, not necessarily as a traditional textbook. You can use them as-is or modify them to fit your instructional style and students’ needs.
Unlike some of the open textbook initiatives these books are publicly available but not openly licensed. You can link to the content, and even link directly to specific pages. However, you cannot remix and redistribute the content.
The Open Access Publishing in European Networks Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. OAPEN has books in multiple languages and covering a large variety of topics. There is a range of licensing for the books, but each book is clearly marked with the license.
Our mission is to make educational products that are free, transparent, and lower barriers to education. We also feature supporting resources, such as slides, videos, and more.
Open Oregon provides textbooks across the sciences, english, business, as well as an introduction to Excel. Books are all CCBY license and available for download in multiple formats.
These books were developed following traditional textbook publishing methods, including peer review, editorial support, and creation of ancillary content. Books are available in multiple formats (PDF, print on demand, on the Web) and are licensed to be revised and remixed by faculty who want to create a custom solution for a course.
OTL, with over 350 books, is a clearinghouse of links to books in various locations, including OpenStax, Saylor and others. Books in the OTL have been peer reviewed for quality, and the Open Textbook Library has multiple criteria for inclusion in the Library.
A volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works. Most items in this collection are digitized works from the public domain, making it a rich source for those in the Humanities.
This collection includes books written specifically for Saylor.org,
Openly licensed textbooks and courses written and curated by SUNY Faculty. Also provides links to other OER initiatives across the state of New York.
The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world.
OER content provided by Lumen covering business subjects like economics, business ethics, management, entrepreneurship, organizational structure, operations management and more.
Offers links to OER related to Economics, Accounting, Marketing, Management, and Finance.
Business Fundamentals was developed by the Global Text Project, which is working to create open-content electronic textbooks that are freely available.
Thousands of OER business materials provided by MERLOT.
OER Commons provides a curated collection of business textbooks.
The University of Minnesota's Open Textbook Library includes a number of business titles.
Education materials by MERLOT including assessment tools, case studies, assignments, textbooks, quizzes, and more.
OER Commons provides a curated collection of education-related textbooks.
The University of Minnesota's Open Textbook Library includes a number of education-related titles.
Free textbooks relative to the health sciences and medicine.
Thousands of OER health sciences materials provided by MERLOT including assessment tools, textbooks, quizzes, simulations, and more.
OER Commons provides a curated collection of health, medicine, and nursing textbooks.
OER content provided by Lumen covering subjects in psychology like emotion, human development, gender and sexuality, psychological disorders, and more.
OER content provided by Lumen covering subjects in sociology like aging, family, culture, race and ethnicity.
Thousands of OER materials provided by MERLOT related to psychology, social work, and sociology.
OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks related to Psychology, Social Work, Women's Studies, and more.
Thousands of OER resources relevant to the social sciences.
The University of Minnesota's Open Textbook Library includes a number of social sciences titles.
Thousands of OER materials provided by MERLOT related to science and technology.
OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks related to computer science.
Thousands of OER resources relevant to science and technology.
The University of Minnesota's Open Textbook Library includes a number of computer science and information systems titles.