Predatory Publishing

1. Scopus and Web of Science Journals List

Scopus and Web of Science are two of the most reputable and comprehensive abstract and citation databases. Journals included in these databases are typically subject to rigorous selection criteria, including peer review processes, editorial board expertise, and adherence to publishing ethics. Check whether the journal is included in these lists.

• Scopus Journal List: https://www.scopus.com/sources.uri
• Web of Science Journal List:  https://mjl.clarivate.com/home

 2. Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high-quality, open-access, peer-reviewed journals. Inclusion in DOAJ means the journal adheres to high standards of openopen-access access publishing. Check whether the journal is included in the DOAJ list.

• DOAJ: https://www.doaj.org

 3. Cabell’s Directories

Cabell's Directories provide authoritative information about academic journals, including detailed insights into their acceptance rates, review processes, and overall quality. They are valuable resources for researchers seeking to identify reputable publication outlets and avoid predatory journals. Cabell’s Whitelist includes reputable academic journals, while Cabell’s Blacklist identifies potentially predatory journals based on various criteria. Being on the Whitelist is a positive indicator while being on the Blacklist suggests predatory practices. ZU has a subscription to Cabell’s Directores

• Cabell's International https://zu.libguides.com/cabells

 4. Think. Check. Submit.

This initiative provides a checklist to help researchers identify trustworthy journals for their research. The checklist includes questions about the journal’s scope, peer review process, editorial board, and publication practices.

• Think. Check. Submit: https://thinkchecksubmit.org
• Think. Check. Attend: https://thinkcheckattend.org (for conferences)

Journal Evaluation Tools

• Journal Citation Reports (JCR): Provides impact factors and other metrics for journals indexed in Web of Science. https://jcr.clarivate.com. ZU currently doesn't have a subscription, but it is being considered.
• Scimago Journal Rank (SJR): Offers a measure of the journal’s impact, influence, and reputation based on data from SCOPUS. https://www.scimagojr.com
• Eigenfactor: Measures the journal’s total importance to the scientific community. http://www.eigenfactor.org

 6. Ulrichsweb

Ulrichsweb is a directory of periodicals that provides detailed information on more than 300,000 publications. Use Ulrichsweb to check if the journal is listed and obtain information about its publisher, scope, and indexing status. ZU has subription to this tool.

• Ulrichsweb: http://zulib.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://ulrichsweb.serialssolutions.com/

7. Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA)

OASPA promotes best practices and ethical standards in open access publishing. Check if the publisher is a member of OASPA, which indicates adherence to high publishing standards.

• OASPA https://oaspa.org

 8. Evaluating Journal Websites

Look for a diverse and reputable editorial board with members from recognized institutions. Ensure the journal describes a transparent peer review process. Be wary of journals with excessive fees or unclear fee structures. Verify the presence of complete and verifiable contact information.

9. Consult Experts and Librarians

Seek advice from colleagues, mentors, or librarians who may have experience with the journal or publisher in question. Expert opinions can provide valuable insights and help identify red flags.