ISC 251 Introduction to Integrated Strategic Communication

The Arab world has engaged in public relations for thousands of years, and the public relations literature provides multiple examples extending from ancient times. However, modern public relations is much more vaguely defined. This is partly because the research surrounding public relations practice in the Middle East remains sparse, especially in the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries. This book presents a clear picture of contemporary PR practice in this region, providing a background on the evolution of public relations in each GCC country. It shows how environmental factors (historical, cultural, socio-political, and economic) influence practice in the region. It also contributes to public relations scholarship, education, and practice worldwide by providing new perspectives to those unfamiliar with its practice in this region. This book will benefit scholars and practitioners alike through its informed analysis of the strengths and weaknesses of practice in the GCC countries, as well being of great benefit to the development of professional practice in the region. rmed analysis of the strengths and weaknesses of practice in the GCC countries, as well being of great benefit to the development of professional practice in the region.
Cite APA:
Almutairi, T. M., & Kruckeberg, D. (Eds.). (2019). Public relations in the gulf cooperation council countries : An arab perspective. Retrieved from https://ebookcentral.proquest.com

The Handbook of International Crisis Communication Research articulates a broader understanding of crisis communication, discussing the theoretical, methodological, and practical implications of domestic and transnational crises, featuring the work of global scholars from a range of sub-disciplines and related fields. Provides the first integrative international perspective on crisis communication Articulates a broader understanding of crisis communication, which includes work from scholars in journalism, public relations, audience research, psychology, political science, sociology, economics, anthropology, and international communication Explores the topic from cross-national and cross-cultural crisis communication approaches Includes research and scholars from countries around the world and representing all regions Discusses a broad range of crisis types, such as war, terrorism, natural disasters, pandemia, and organizational crises
Cite APA:
Schwarz, A., Seeger, M. W., & Auer, C. (Eds.). (2016). The handbook of international crisis communication research. Retrieved from https://ebookcentral.proquest.com

A corporate crisis situation is an integral part of a company's life cycle. On average, the probability that corporate manager will experience a corporate crisis situation within five years is almost as high as 82%. Multinational companies in particular face a higher potential because of their various external environments, extended media and respectively public interest in their actions, and consequently their dependence on different public opinions as well as the much wider impacts because of their publics' spread. Well planned and organisationally integrated multinational crisis communication is a key success factor in a crisis situation. Yet existing models and frameworks in crisis communication are rather tactically than strategically oriented, lack in of the depth of the guidance they provide, and present limitations in their scope of application. In addition, publications on crisis communication provided by experts with practical experience mainly deal with a wide field of case studies and neglect scientific applications; a holistic view on strategic multinational crisis communication is weak. The dissertation examines the nature of strategic multinational crisis communication and identifies their general organisational integration and coherences with corporate functions within a multinational environment. By following a theoretical analysis approach, deficiencies and weaknesses of existing crisis communication theories and the underlying literature will be identified. This is accomplished through constant comparison of these science-based bodies of data with current needs and requirements coming from practice (practice body of data) in multinational crisis communication. These results build the foundation for a new practice-related and scientifically supported theory in long term planned crisis communication for multinational companies. By reducing complexity through arranging and organising complexity, the first generation of a new strategic multinational crisis communication model will be developed based on the system-oriented approach. In the new theory, multinational companies will effectively and efficiently plan and organise those identified dimensions that are critical for successful multinational crisis communication; in order to protect existing values and create new values.
Cite APA:
Fronz, C. (2011). Strategic management in crisis communication - a multinational approach : A multinational approach. Retrieved from https://ebookcentral.proquest.com

The premier guide to digital marketing that works, and a solid framework for success The Art of Digital Marketing is the comprehensive guide to cracking the digital marketing 'code,' and reaching, engaging, and serving the empowered consumer. Based on the industry's leading certification from the Digital Marketing Institute (DMI), this book presents an innovative methodology for successful digital marketing: start with the customer and work backwards. A campaign is only effective as it is reflective of the consumer's wants, needs, preferences, and inclinations; the DMI framework provides structured, implementable, iterative direction for getting it right every time. The heart of the framework is a three-step process called the 3i Principles: Initiate, Iterate, and Integrate. This simple idea translates into higher engagement, real customer interaction, and multichannel campaigns that extend even into traditional marketing channels. The evolution of digital marketing isn't really about the brands; it's about consumers exercising more control over their choices. This book demonstrates how using this single realization as a starting point helps you build and implement more effective campaigns. Get inside the customer's head with deep consumer research Constantly improve your campaigns based on feedback and interactions Integrate digital activities across channels, including traditional marketing Build campaigns based on customer choice and control Digital marketing turns traditional marketing models on their heads. Instead of telling the customer what to think, you find out what they already think and go from there. Instead of front-loading resources, you continually adjust your approach based on real interactions with real customers every day. Digital marketing operates within its own paradigm, and The Art of Digital Marketing opens the door for your next campaign.

Practical, big-picture guidance toward a mastery of social mediabenefits and the risks to avoid Packed with useful web links, popular social media tools,platforms, and monitoring tools, Auditing Social Media showsyou how to leverage the power of social media for instant businessbenefits while assessing the risks involved. Your organization seesthe value in social media and wants to reach new markets, yet thereare risks and compliance issues that must be considered.Auditing Social Media equips you to successfully partnerwith your business in achieving its social media goals and track itthrough strong metrics. Shows how to ensure your business has adequate metrics in placeto capitalize on social media while protecting itself fromexcessive risk Reveals how to ensure your social media strategy is alignedwith your business's goals Explores the risk and compliance issues every business mustconsider when using social media Includes a sample audit program Auditing Social Media is the one-stop resource you'llkeep by your side to clear away the confusing clutter surroundingsocial media.

Media has most definitely evolved, as have the ways in which wecontemplate, design, communicate and execute strategy. And ratherthan technological evolution, we're plainly in the midst of atechnological revolution. We have no choice then but to reframe marketing and PR in thecontext of 21st Century technology, 21st Century media anddisintermediation, and 21st Century articulation of andappreciation for business strategy. "Today, every organization is in the influence business.We influence customers to buy from us, employees to work for us,and the media to write about us. Gone are the days when you couldbe your own island. Now, to be successful, you need to live withinthe influence ecosystem and that requires a change of mindset.Fortunately, Philip Sheldrake will show you how." David Meerman Scott, bestselling author of The New Rulesof Marketing & PR and the new hit Real-Time Marketing &PR

What do Coca-Cola, McDonald's, IBM, Microsoft and Virgin have in common? Yes, they are all global giants, but what they are less recognized for are all those branded products they've launched that have bombed - spectacularly and at great cost. Brand Failures takes a riveting look at how such disasters occur. In this new updated edition of the classic Matt Haig's best-selling book, we're given the inside story of 100 major brand blunders that make for jaw-dropping reading. He describes the brands that have set sail with the help of multi-million dollar advertising campaigns only to sink without a trace. From acknowledged brand mistakes made by successful blue-chip companies to some lesser know but hilarious bomb-shells, he reveals what went wrong in every case and provides a valuable checklist of lessons learnt. A tour of Matt Haig's fascinating hall of failure will alert you to potential dangers and show you how to ensure a long, healthy life for your brand.

Brand success = business success. A simple equation, but identifying those winning qualities is not easy. To achieve this goal, author Matt Haig applies a range of criteria including financial success, longevity, technological advancement, new product development, work place revolution and mass communication. The result is a comprehensive, entertaining and illuminating collection. From Adidas to Zippo, we're guided through a gallery of some of the world's best-known names and given a rare insight into the secret of their success. With comments from brand managers, psychologists, academics and other experts, Brand Success is a great resource for brand managers, marketers and students. For the rest of us, it's simply a great read.

Until recently, the term Social Media Marketing, was for many marketers unknown. However, during the last couple of years, a new industry of online community tools have shown to have a large impact on the communication between company and consumer. This paper seeks to identify and discuss the main tools of traditional marketing, and thereafter to analyze the difficulty of reaching a set target audience, i.e. the complexity of measuring the effectiveness and Return on Investment. The paper is thereafter introducing the new types of given online marketing tools, such as social networking websites, blogs, microblogs; where users may interact and contribute content among each other, and thereby escape from the ongoing mass communication done by companies. The main advantages such as the ability to effectively analyze a company‟s marketing investment, possibility to increase credibility and brand engagement, will be confronted with the question whether this means of online two-way communication is sustainable or not; focusing on the issues of privacy- and message overload.

Information available through 'traditional' business and competitive resources can be complimented by information gained through social media tools. Social Information is a must-have book for competitive and business researchers in any discipline including librarians, information professionals, intelligence analysts, students and marketing personnel, and explores how more 'traditional' resources can be complimented by social media tools. The book outlines different categories of social tools, competitive and business applications of these tools, and provides example searches with screenshots. The book provides concrete search examples, as well as strategies and approaches for searching social tools that may be available today or that may emerge tomorrow. Readers will learn ways to quickly develop new search strategies as new tools and features emerge. The future of social tools and information, and the lasting impact that these tools have had on how information plays a part in our lives, our businesses and our careers is discussed. The title is structured into seven chapters, covering: the impact of social media, and the approach of the book; a brief history of business and competitive information and the rise of social tools; blogs and microblogs; video, audio and images; social search engines; and the future of social information. The book specifically explores business and competitive information and approaches using social media tools Written by a highly knowledgeable and long-time practitioner and researcher in the field Provides both practical and strategic search approaches, so that the skills learned will be readily transferable to other social tools, and to social tools as they evolve

How do organizations manage social media effectively? Every organization wants to implement social media, but it is difficult to create processes and mange employees to make this happen. Most social media books focus on strategies for communicating with customers, but they fail to address the internal process that takes place within a business before those strategies can be implemented. This book is geared toward helping you manage every step of the process required to use social media for business. The Social Media Management Handbook provides a complete toolbox for defining and practicing a coherent social media strategy. It is a comprehensive resource for bringing together such disparate areas as IT, customer service, sales, communications, and more to meet social media goals. Wollan and Smith and their Accenture team explain policies, procedures, roles and responsibilities, metrics, strategies, incentives, and legal issues that may arise. You will learn how to: Empower employees and teams to utilize social media effectively throughout the organization Measure the ROI of social media investments and ensure appropriate business value is achieved over time Make smarter decisions, make them more quickly, and make them stick Get the most out of your social media investment and fully leverage its benefits at your company with The Social Media Management Handbook.

Taking Brand Initiative offers a revolutionary approach to corporate branding that looks beyond the marketing value of brands company-to-customer and the HR significance of brands company-to-employee. It places the management of brands at the senior level of management as it radiates throughout the organization. In this groundbreaking book, international branding thought leaders, Mary Jo Hatch and Make Schultz explain how a company's brand is just as important to #65533;outsiders#65533;#65533;politicians, suppliers, and analysts as it is to company insiders. They show how only the corporate brand can integrate all the company's staff functions and provide a vision for competition and globalization.