Often when starting a research project, you'll need a basic understanding of your research topic or concept. A good way to learn more about the basics of your topic is to look it up in a dictionary or encyclopedia. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias include definitions, facts, and statistics on a topic. Starting your research using an encyclopedia can ensure that you will have a basic understanding of your topic and will also help you develop additional keywords to search for your topic.
Credo Reference offers access to notable encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, and more across over 80 subjects and 6M research concepts, plus 1,000+ videos, animations, and 500,000 visual aids.
Access authoritative, balanced, and engaging content from global experts, including Nobel laureates and Pulitzer Prize winners. Explore 100,000+ articles, multimedia, and comprehensive research resources for a thorough learning experience.
For your multi-model project, you'll also need credible sources to gain knowledge about your topic. Below are some resources that were introduced during your Information Literacy session with the Library.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context offers contextual information and opinions on today's social issues. It features viewpoints, overviews, magazines, journals, news, primary documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and vetted website links.
Gale In Context: Global Issues supports global awareness with authoritative content, allowing users to analyze important modern issues via news, viewpoints, references, videos, and more.
Use this search portal to explore library resources accessible to the Zayed University community.
Google Scholar is a web search engine that indexes scholarly articles, books, conference papers, and theses from various disciplines. It is a freely accessible platform that makes it easy to search for and access academic literature from numerous sources worldwide. Google Scholar provides researchers, students, and academics with a range of features, including citation tracking, related articles, and personal libraries.
Google Scholar Library Links connect users with resources available through their institution's library, providing seamless access to full-text articles and other scholarly materials. By configuring these links, users can easily discover and access subscription-based content without navigating away from Google Scholar.
From the Google Scholar Homepage, click on the dropdown menu symbol 
in the upper-left corner.
After setting this up, if the ZU library has a subscription to the article, you will see a Fulltext@ZU link next to it on Google Scholar.
