Online dictionaries and reference sources
Other important web sites
In Revolution in the Arab World: The Long View, CCAS presents recent analysis of the historical context and events making up the Arab Spring. Themes covered in this collection include the prospects Arab states have to institutionalize their achievements, the vulnerability of various Arab authoritarian states to uprisings similar to those in Tunisia and Egypt, and counter strategies authoritarian regimes are using to resist, contain, and co-opt the protests.
Bibliographie nationale marocaine = al-Bībliyūghrāfiyā al-waṭanīyah al-maghribīyah
Published: Rabat : Bibliothèque Générale et Archives du Maroc
Started in: 1963-
Frequency : Annual
Years 1986-2006 are available in two parts:
Arabic OR French
For 2007 and after Moroccan national bibliography should be available in a new searchable version online. It will list all the physical formats: books, periodicals, audiovisual, maps and plans. However the link is broken at this time.
NB: If PDFs do not open with Firefox, try Internet Explorer.
Publications of the Institut français du Proche-Orient
Institut français du Proche-Orient
À l’Ifpo, les épuisés ont repris vie !
Mis en ligne le 14 décembre, 2011 - 16:37
Consultation du livre de J. Sauvaget, Monuments historiques de Damas (1932) sur e-corpus
Monuments historiques de Damas, de
J. Sauvaget (1932)
Quatre vingt quinze titres épuisés du catalogue des Presses de l'Ifpo sont désormais en libre accès sur le site e-corpus, consultables en mode image mais avec recherche plein-texte (consulter les ouvrages épuisés).
Cette campagne de numérisation, conduite dans le cadre d’un partenariat avec le Centre de Conservation du Livre (CCL, Arles) a redonné vie à des classiques de grands orientalistes et chercheurs comme Jean Sauvaget, Claude Cahen, Charles Pellat, Albert de Boucheman, Henri Laoust, André Latron, etc. et à des numéros du Bulletin d’études orientales. Elle a vocation à englober en 2012 l’ensemble des 230 titres épuisés.
La renaissance des épuisés va de pair avec la poursuite de la mise en ligne sur revues.org (ifpo.revues.org) d'ouvrages plus récents, en accès libre et en texte intégral, et avec la commercialisation d'ebooks (PDF et epub).
Grâce au CCL, l’Ifpo numérise également ses fonds iconographiques (consulter les photographies). Trente mille images de la photothèque d’archéologie sont en cours de traitement. Près de 3000 d’entre elles (un corpus remarquable de vues aériennes datant des années 1930 à 1960) sont d’ores et déjà consultables.
Al Rawi: Egypt's Heritage Review
RAWI is a quarterly publication on Egyptian History and Heritage.
Manuscripta orientalia : international journal for Oriental manuscript research
Published by: Russian Academy of Sciences, Institute of Oriental Studies, St. Petersburg Branch. Institut vostokovedeniia (Rossiiskaia akademiia nauk). Sankt-Peterburgskii filial.; Russkoe aziatskoe obshchestvo.
Started in: 1995-
Language Note: In English.
“Manuscripta orientalia: international journal for Oriental manuscript research [...] began in 1995 by "Thesa Publishers" (Saint-Petersburg) on initiative of a group of Petersburg orientalists as undependant scientific publication, operating on basis of self-finance and is an English-language quarterly containing 72 pages. Now it is published in cooperation with Peter the Great Museum of Anthropology and Ethnography (Kunstkamera) of the Russian Academy of Sciences and the State Hermitage Museum. It is the first and only international journal entirely dedicated to issues of Oriental textology, comparative codicology, and palaeography. It regularly features articles by scholars who work with sources in Oriental languages and manuscripts preserved in the rich collections of the famous St. Petersburg museums, libraries and archives. The journal also acquaints its readers with materials on little-known collections of Oriental manuscripts from various museums and academic centers in Russia and the countries of the former USSR. It serves as a forum for the research of colleagues in the United States, Germany, Norway, Holland, Italy, Czech Republic, France, Iran, Great Britain, Japan and many other countries. Publications in the journal are subjected to a stringent selection process to ensure that it meets the demands of an international community of specialists. Our subscribers include leading centers in the humanities and libraries in nearly 30 countries. “
Kurdish Human Rights Project legal review
Kurdish Human Rights Project legal review,
London, Vol. 5, 2004-
"Kurdish Human Rights Project is an independent, non-political human rights organisation dedicated to the promotion and protection of the human rights of all persons in the Kurdish regions of Turkey, Iraq, Iran, Syria and elsewhere. It is a registered charity founded in London in 1992 working with its partner organisations in the regions."
Institut kurde de Paris: Liaison and Information bulletin
Liaison and Information bulletin
Publisher: Institut kurde de Paris
In English, French, German and Italian.
"The Kurdish Institute has been publishing a monthly Liaison and Information bulletin since July 1983. This includes a commented review, with cuttings reproduced in full, of references to the Kurds in the world press.
This Bulletin forms a unique data base on Kurdish history since 1983."
Alphabetical List of Open Access Journals in Middle Eastern Studies
Journal Archive: Etudes kurdes (2000-2006)
Etudes Kurdes: revue semestrielle de recherches (2000-2006)
Publisher: Fondation-Institut kurde de Paris
Start Year: 2000
Text in: French
Nos. 1-8, 2000-2006
See other publications of Institut Kurde de Paris
Manuscripts at the National Library of Republic of Bulgaria.
The digitalization of valuable materials from the St. St. Cyril and Methodius National Library collections started in 2006. In autumn 2007 these digital images became accessible for users through the library’s website. Over 290 000 files have been digitalized till the end of 2012 – manuscripts, old printed books, unpublished documents from the Bulgarian Historical Archive and Oriental Department, portraits and photos, graphical and cartographical editions, Bulgarian newspapers and journals from 1844 to 1944 – images and their systematical descriptions. Users could search in the Electronic archive through the specialized system DocuWare. The digitalized originals are on free access for users. The Digital Library is structured in several collections according to the type of the included documents. The different collections are subdivided in separate sections.
In compliance with the needs of those who are concerned with Iran/Persia and its issues, in April 2001 "Iran Chamber Society" was founded as a non-partisan and non-profit organization with the aim to promote Iranian culture and history. By actively publicizing historical and cultural findings and issues in a format that is accessible for the world community at large, Iran Chamber Society aims to create a global awareness about Iranian society and eradicate the misunderstandings and misconceptions about Iranian society, and to play an educational role as well.
Cambridge Digital Library - Islamic Manuscripts
Cambridge University Library's collection of Islamic manuscripts dates from the origins of Arabic scholarship in Cambridge in the 1630s when the University founded a Professorship in Arabic and William Bedwell donated a Qur'an to the Library. Since that time the collection has grown in size and diversity to over 5,000 works, including the collections of Thomas Erpenius, J.L.Burckhardt, E.H.Palmer and E.G. Browne. These manuscripts shed light on many aspects of the Islamic world, its beliefs and learning.
Journal of Islamic Architecture
Journal of Islamic Architecture (JIA) is a scientific publication for widespread research and criticism topics in Islamic architecture studies. JIA is published twice a year in June and December since June 2010 by International Center for Islamic Architecture from the Sunnah (CIAS), Department of Architecture UIN Maulana Malik Ibrahim Malang.
This website offers a FREE download of over 4000 images of patterns and other design features drawn from the rich cultural heritage of the Islamic world. Historically, the decorative arts have always formed a major part of Islamic aesthetic expression. Its remarkable achievements in this direction (much of which are represented here) make it an invaluable resource for designers of all kinds as well as for art-historians and art-lovers generally.