Arabic & Islamic Studies

A Subject Resource Guide for Arabic & Islamic Studies

Off Campus and Wireless Access

Subject Specialist Dubai

Muneer Abu Baker
Contact:
Library Office: 04 GF-076
Dubai Campus/Technical Services
Phone: 04-4021167

Quick Find

Quick Find:

 

This is a Google-like search box that will search almost every resource in the library collection in one go.

 

 

Featured Web Resources

AMIR - Links to open access journals for Middle East studies.

Saif Al-Islam Alqadhafi - PhD Thesis - Of interest to those following current events in Libya.

Al-Maktaba al-Shamela - A website dedicated to Arabic literature and offering the free consulation and/or download of more than 5.000 e-books in Arabic. It includes publications related to philosophy, history, religion, poetry, etc...

Arab Uprisings - This guide is developed by University Libraries at American University of Beirut. It compiles resources about the "Arab Spring" from different think tanks and news sources, and it guides you on how to find relevant information using the library resources.

Directory of Free Arab Journals

Arabic Collections Online - (ACO) is a publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content. Funded by New York University Abu Dhabi, this mass digitization project aims to expose up to 15,000 volumes from NYU and partner institutions over a period of five years. NYU and the partner institutions are contributing all types of material—literature, business, science, and more—from their Arabic language collections. ACO will provide digital access to printed books drawn from rich Arabic collections of prominent libraries.

 

 

Featured Book

Amir Updates

Al Mashriq

Al Mashriq - The Levant:   Cultural Riches from the Countries of the Eastern Mediterranean

Al-Mashriq is a non-political, non-secterian, non-commercial webserver. Any opinions expressed are those of the authors and in no way reflect the views of the maintainer of the server. Its purpose is to gather information that reflects the culture and ways of life of Lebanon and the Levant and was started as guide and entry point to the life and history of the region for the benefit of expatriates of the Levant.

Al-Mashriq is a repository for cultural multimedia information from the Levant (Al-Mashriq) in general and Lebanon in particular. As of October 2010 it contains over 245000 documents and is still growing. It was started as an initiative by Berthe Choueiry (now associate professor at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln) and myself in 1993 and was for a while an ftp-server at the Ecole Polytechnic Federal de Lausanne. It was moved in 1994 to become a World-Wide Web server at the Østfold University College, Halden (Norway) where it now resides and is maintained by myself and an occasional team of students.

Contributions that fall within the scope of the server are received with gratitude. Material must contain correct bibliographic references to source and must not be in violation of copyright. The editors of Al-Mashriq retain the sole right to accept or refuse material.

MELA Notes The Journal of the Middle East Librarians Association
ISSN 0364-2410

It is the purpose of the Middle East Librarians' Association to facilitate communication among members through meetings and publications; to improve the quality of area librarianship through the development of standards for the profession and education of Middle East library specialists; to compile and disseminate information concerning Middle East libraries and collections and to represent the judgment of the members in matters affecting them; to encourage cooperation among members and Middle East libraries, especially in the acquisition of materials and the development of bibliographic control; to cooperate with other library and area organizations in projects of mutual concern and benefit; to promote research in and development of indexing and automated techniques as applied to Middle East materials.

Muftah

Digital magazine publishing the work of experts on the Middle East and North Africa with a fresh, new perspective on regional policy-making.

 

Arab World English Journal (AWEJ)
ISSN: 2229-9327

Welcome to the Arab World English Journal (AWEJ). AWEJ is a refereed, peer-reviewed, and open-access e-journal for scholars, researchers, teachers, and officials of the English language in the Arab countries and in the entire world.

With the coming of globalization and E-era, there is a general consensus among most scholars, educationalists, and policy makers that English language is the language and the tool of globalization and internationalization. Globalization has the power to make English language universal. Although the distance between countries has become closer, the competition is getting fiercer. Therefore, the ministries and departments of education as well as universities in most of countries of the world have launched quantum activities to develop and update their English teaching programs to cope with the new challenges.

 Most Arab countries teach English language as part of their public education, but unfortunately, educators, teachers, and officials are unhappy with these programs due to the poor results, outcomes and performances of many students. Hence, it is easy to note that the quality of instruction has inhibited students’ English language proficiency over the years. In addition,, there are several other key issues like the growing disparity in competence in English among students and a lack of English competence among many teachers who have not effectively advanced the language.

The Arab World English Journal has a clear vision of the current situation of English teaching and learning in the Arab countries, and through AWEJ we hope to establish a forum for lively professional discussion to promote the development of links between language-related research and its application in educational and other professional settings. We believe that as globalization continues to make the world a smaller place, we need to make certain that students gain the skills and knowledge to excel in whatever careers they pursue.

AWEJ is only possible with great support from the international community as reflected by the diversity of our editorial board members, whom I would like to thank personally. We very much welcome your feedback and invite you to share your experiences and insights. 

 

The Holy Koran in the Library of Congress : a bibliography (1993)

[item image]

News

Irancarto


Irancarto is a scientific research website devoted to cartographic studies on Iran and the Iranian world current or past: society, demography, economics, politics, culture, history, language, arts, cities, countryside...


Over 500 maps now online based on new cartographic studies and digital editions of previously printed atlases.

http://zu.libguides.com/c.php?g=125387&p=820911#s-lg-box-wrapper-2868789