Endnote

EndNote is a powerful software tool designed to help you organize citations and create bibliographies with ease. Citations can be automatically exported from a variety of databases, library catalogs, and e-journal sites.

Zayed University does not offer a site license for EndNote. However, members of the Zayed University community can access EndNote Web for free, a web-based version of EndNote intended to be used alongside the EndNote Desktop application.

If you wish to purchase the EndNote Desktop software, it can be obtained directly from the EndNote website or authorized resellers

EndNote Web at Zayed University

Members of the Zayed University community have free access to EndNote Web, an online complement to the EndNote Desktop application that can also be used independently. With EndNote Web, you can create a group of references and share that group with other EndNote Web users. References from EndNote Desktop (version X6 and above) are automatically synchronized between EndNote and EndNote Web.

Register for EndNote Web

To access EndNote Web, you will need to register first via the Web of Science platform:

1. Go to Web of Science.
2. Click on "Products" at the top right of the screen.
3. From the drop-down menu, select "EndNote."
4. On the left-hand side of the page, under "Not a member yet," click "Register."
5. Fill in the registration form using your Zayed University email address and click "Register."
6. You should receive an email confirming your registration details.

Accessing EndNote Web

After registering for an account, you can access EndNote Web at:

MyEndnoteWeb.com

EndNote X2 and later versions allow you to find full-text articles using the OpenURL Link, which connects your EndNote records to the Zayed University Libraries' resources. EndNote X3 and later versions can also automatically locate and download articles directly into your EndNote library. While some articles may not be found using EndNote's Find Full Text feature, they may still be available through Zayed University Libraries. To check for full text using OpenURL, right-click on an EndNote reference and select "Open URL Link."

Configuring EndNote to Work with Find Full Text in X3 and Higher:

1. Click on File > Edit > Preferences.
2. Click on Find Full Text.
3. Checkmark all the "Find Full Text" boxes.
4. In the OpenURL path box, type or copy and paste the following:

5. n the Authenticate with box, type or copy/paste the following:

6. Click on Apply then OK.
This configuration will enable EndNote to effectively

To find the full text for EndNote citations

1. Ensure Your Account is Configured: Make sure your EndNote is properly configured with the Zayed University settings (see instructions above).

2. Select Citations:

   • Click or highlight the citations you wish to find the full text for.
   • Use Shift or Ctrl to select multiple citations.
   • Right-click on the selected citations and choose "Find Full Text."

3. Authenticate:

   • A window will appear asking you to log in. Enter your Zayed University credentials click "Login."
   • A second window may appear showing a menu of links. You can ignore this and click "Continue." (Authentication is only required once per session.)

4. View Results:

   • You will now see a "Find Full Text" group at the bottom of your "My Library" in EndNote, indicating that EndNote is searching for and locating the full text.
   • EndNote will create three groups based on the results:
     • Found PDF: The PDF file is added to your EndNote Library, and a link to the PDF will display when you view the full EndNote record.
     • Found URL: A URL to access the full text will be provided.
     • Not Found: Indicates that EndNote was unable to locate the full text for these citations.

This process helps streamline your research by automatically retrieving and organizing full-text articles within your EndNote Library.