Scholarship on Islam and women has expanded exponentially over the past twenty years, with increasing specialization within the field, as well as cross-pollination between other fields and disciplines. With this surge in interest there is a genuine need for a systematic reference work toprovide balanced comprehensive coverage of the field.The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women is designed to meet this need by providing clear, current, comprehensive information on the major topics of scholarly interest within the study of women and Islam.The Encyclopedia, which is based on the highly acclaimed Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World and is one of four encyclopedias in the Islamic World series, will be published as an e-book, in print, and on Oxford Islamic Studies Online. It will feature several hundred in-depth articles written byleading experts and is intended as a single source for accurate overview articles covering all aspects of this flourishing area of research.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History captures the experiences of women throughout world history in a comprehensive, 4-volume work. Although there has been extensive research on women in history by region, no text or reference work has comprehensively covered the role women haveplayed throughout world history.The past thirty years have seen an explosion of research and effort to present the experiences and contributions of women not only in the Western world but across the globe. Historians have investigated womens daily lives in virtually every region and have researched the leadership roles women havefilled across time and region. They have found and demonstrated that there is virtually no historical, social, or demographic change in which women have not been involved and by which their lives have not been affected. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History benefits greatly from theseefforts and experiences, and illuminates how women worldwide have influenced and been influenced by these historical, social, and demographic changes.The Encyclopedia contains over 1,300 signed articles arranged in an A-Z format for ease of use. The entries cover six main areas: biographies; geography and history; comparative culture and society, including adoption, abortion, performing arts; organizations and movements, such as the EgyptianUprising, and the Paris Commune; womens and gender studies; and topics in world history that include slave trade, globalization, and disease. With its rich and insightful entries by leading scholars and experts, this reference work is sure to be a valued, go-to resource for scholars, college andhigh school students, and general readers alike.
For over 150 years, from 1820 up to the foundation of the United Arab Emirates in 1971, Britain and the emirates of the eastern Arabian Peninsula were linked by a relationship that was unique when compared to the traditional colonial models exercised in India and elsewhere. Using original archival material as well as select secondary sources, Muna M. Alhammadi charts the history of Britain's involvement in the evolution of the Trucial States - the predecessors of the modern-day United Arab Emirates - with a focus on its role in the foundation and growth of their administrative structures, security, and socio-economic development. This book provides a unique analysis of the role played by Britain in the internal administration of the Trucial States up to 1965, offering scholars valuable insight into the early administrative developments which would ultimately form the foundations of the United Arab Emirates as a modern-day federation.
Women in Civil Society: The State, Islamism and Networking in the UAE investigates how women in an Arab Gulf country prove to play a key role in how civil society takes shape with and against one another through case studies on women in state-run organizations, Islamic organizations, and networks.
Corporate Author إمارات العربية المتحدة.
Uniform Title قوانين، الخ.
Title الإمارات العربية المتحدة : القوانين الإتحادية بالعربية و الإنكليزية = UAE federal laws, English - Arabic / فكرة و إعداد و توثيق و تجميع و ترجمة مركز الأبحاث و الاستشارات القانونية (صادر ناشرون).
Publisher Info بيروت : صادر، المنشورات الحقوقية، 2008
Saudi Arabia and the UAE have been engaged in a long-standing border dispute and in 2004 the UAE launched a public diplomatic campaign to persuade Saudi Arabia to revisit the issue. The governments of Saudi Arabia and the UAE had already signed the Treaty of Jeddah in 1974 to end forty years of conflict over territory. However, discrepancies between the oral agreement and final text led to recurrent tensions. This book offers understanding about how the Treaty of Jeddah came about and why the UAE were so quick to sign an agreement they would later regret. Based on research from the British archives, American reports and personal interviews, Noura Al-Mazrouei looks back to the 'colonial period' (1935-1971), when the Trucial States, consisting of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, Umm all Quwain, Fujairah, Ras al Khaima and Ajman, functioned as British Protectorates, to investigate the nature of the territorial negotiations that ensued during the time.The book shows that the negotiating position of the UAE, which was formed by the union of the Trucial States in 1971, was substantially weakened after the departure of the British that year, while Saudi Arabia's situation was strengthened by the United States' Twin Pillar policy that made both Saudi Arabia and Iran guarantors of its national security interests in the region.Saudi Arabia and the UAE sheds light on the complicated history of the Saudi-UAE territorial negotiations and, in assessing the boundary question during the rule of Sheikh Zayid bin Sultan Al-Nahyan and his son, Sheikh Khalifa, the book suggests how the UAE might still secure a final, more beneficial revision to the agreement.
Buraimi is an oasis in an otherwise bleak desert on the border between Oman and the UAE. In the early twentieth century, it shot to notoriety as oil brought the world's attention to this corner of the Arabian Peninsula, and the ensuing battle over energy resources between regional and global superpowers began. In this lively account, Michael Quentin Morton tells the story of how the power of oil and the conflicting interests of the declining British Empire and the United States all came to a head with the conflict between Great Britain and Saudi Arabia, shaping the very future of the Gulf states. The seeds of conflict over Buraimi were sown during the oil negotiations of 1933 in Jedda, where the international oil companies vied for control of the future industry in the Arabian Peninsula. As a result of lengthy discussions, including the efforts of men such as St John Philby and Ibn Saud himself, the Saudis granted an oil concession for Eastern Arabia without precisely defining the geographical limits of the area to be conceded. Matters came to a head in 1949 when Saudi Arabia made claim to the territory, and Great Britain, acting on behalf of Oman and Abu Dhabi, challenged the actions of the Saudis. Attempts at arbitration failed, and only one year before Britain's defeat over the Suez Canal, Britain expelled Saudi Arabia from the oasis. In the wake of Britain's withdrawal 'East of Suez' in the early 1970s, the dispute was apparently solved between Saudi Arabia and the UAE. But whilst the controversy dominated Anglo-Saudi relations for more than 30 years, it still casts its shadow across the Gulf today, threatening to expose the fragility of the West's ever-present dependency on the region for its supply of oil. Morton brings a range of historical figures to life, from the American oilmen arriving in steamy Jedda in the 1930s, to the rival sheikhs of Buraimi itself competing for power, wealth and allegiances as well as the great players in world politics: Churchill, Truman and Ibn Saud. This entertaining and thoroughly researched book is both a story of a decisive conflict in the history of Middle East politics and also of the great changes that the discovery of oil brought to this previously desolate land.
In The Iran-UAE Gulf Islands Dispute, Charles Buderi and Luciana Ricart take the reader on a journey through centuries of Gulf history and evolving principles of international law on territorial disputes to reach conclusions over the rightful sovereign of three Gulf islands - Abu Musa and the Tunbs - claimed by both Iran and the United Arab Emirates. Drawing on a wide range of scholarly works and archival documents from sources as diverse as the Dutch East India Company, the Ottoman Empire and the British Government, Buderi and Ricart analyze historical events from antiquity up to modern times. Ultimately, the authors reach conclusions on the ownership of the islands under international law which challenge the positions of both parties.
Award-winning journalist Jim Krane charts the history of Dubai from its earliest days, considers the influence of the family who has ruled it since the nineteenth century, and looks at the effect of the global economic downturn on a place that many tout as a blueprint for a more stable Middle East The city of Dubai, one of the seven United Arab Emirates, is everything the Arab world isn't: a freewheeling capitalist oasis where the market rules and history is swept aside. Until the credit crunch knocked it flat, Dubai was the fastest-growing city in the world, with a roaring economy that outpaced China's while luring more tourists than all of India. It's one of the world's safest places, a stone's throw from its most dangerous. InCity of Gold, Jim Krane, who reported for the AP from Dubai, brings us a boots-on-the-ground look at this fascinating place by walking its streets, talking to its business titans, its prostitutes, and the hard-bitten men who built its fanciful skyline. He delves into the city's history, paints an intimate portrait of the ruling Maktoum family, and ponders where the city is headed. Dubai literally came out of nowhere. It was a poor and dusty village in the 1960s. Now it's been transformed into the quintessential metropolis of the future through the vision of clever sheikhs, Western capitalists, and a river of investor money that poured in from around the globe. What has emerged is a tolerant and cosmopolitan city awash in architectural landmarks, luxury resorts, and Disnified kitsch. It's at once home to America's most prestigious companies and universities and a magnetfor the Middle East's intelligentsia. Dubai's dream of capitalism has also created a deeply stratified city that is one of the world's worst polluters. Wild growth has clogged its streets and left its citizens a tiny minority in a sea of foreigners. Jim Krane considers all of this and casts a critical eye on the toll that the global economic downturn has taken. While many think Dubai's glory days have passed, insiders like Jim Krane who got to know the city and its creators firsthand realize there's much more to come in the City of Gold, a place that, in just a few years, has made itself known to nearly every person on earth.
This book combines classic and recent studies investigating challenges to Emiratization - full employment of Emirati nationals who make up only about 10% of the total workforce - in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). The book offers a comprehensive overview of the events leading to the country's rapid growth and development, as well as important social and cultural issues arising as the country transitioned from an isolated traditional economy to an open globalized one, and explores the specific challenges of incorporating Emiratis in their own vibrant economy. This topic is of interest to scholars, policymakers, and those considering investing or seeking employment in the UAE since it emerged as a Western-friendly, politically stable, and prospering oil-producing country in a region plagued by political, social, and economic turmoil.
Public policy is a set of principles used to uphold the well-being of citizens. These principles are often unwritten and form the basis of social laws. This book focuses on 'unlocking the black box of UAE Public Policy'. It presents several cases that give an insight into the UAE leadership, the areas the government has prioritized and how these fold into UAE Vision 2021. Viewpoints on provoking topics by thought leaders like Her Excellency Sheikha Lubna bint Khalid Al Qasimi, UAE Cabinet Member and UAE Minister of State for Tolerance; Fadi Ghandour, Co-Founder and Vice Chairman of Aramex and Managing Partner, Wamda Capital and Christopher M. Schroeder, Venture Investor and Author.Under the leadership of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Prime Minister and Vice President of UAE and Ruler of Dubai, Dubai has grown from a tiny village by a creek to a globally recognized megapolis. Through these cases, you will get a glimpse of strategic decisions taken by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed and how these decisions taken by the UAE Government have led to the creation of one of the most connected cities and competitive countries in the world.The book is divided into six sections: Government leadership, national competitive advantage, social and sustainable development, national human capital development, entrepreneurship and government systems. The UAE 2021 Vision aims for UAE to be one of the top 10 countries in the world. The future focus for UAE is to increase competitiveness in foreign markets especially looking at trade, entrepreneurship and focusing on seven high-value adding innovation sectors like renewable energy, transport, education, health, technology, water, and space. One of the challenges this resource-rich country has had is moving away from oil dependency. By 2016, oil formed less than 30% of the UAE GDP, and the plan is to have a 20% dependency by 2021. The book covers a variety of cases that address many of these issues.This book can be used to teach public policy and help international industry leaders and academics understand the context of UAE and the role it plays in the global arena. This project is a series by the Academy of International Business - MENA chapter, supported by the Mohammed Bin Rashid School of Government, Dubai.For more information on AIB- MENA, go to:http://www.uowdubai.ac.ae/aib
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online contains over 80,000 articles – thoroughly fact-checked – on everything from A-Rod to Zebras. Contributors include over 100 Nobel Laureates plus subject gurus like Bill Clinton, Tony Hawk, and Desmond Tutu.
This encyclopedia features concise entries providing essential information on a range of subjects, including world affairs, science and technology, the arts, modern and ancient history, religion, sports, and popular culture.
This invaluable global handbook contains separate entries for every country in the world. Each entry gives a succinct overview covering the contemporary social, economic, religious and political issues that shape the country. It also contains vital statistics such as GDP, life expectancy, income distribution, and internet use.