LibGuides: HRM 351 Organizational Behavior: Definitions

Finding definitions

For your project you will be examining the relationship between two variables.

The two variables can be selected from the material of HRM 351:

motivation,
job satisfaction,
workplace stress,
distributive justice,
individual personality differences,
intelligence,
emotional intelligence,
or other.

You will need to define each variable using reference/s from peer-reviewed articles. Identify how each variable is tested and what measure is used to test it.

In addition to finding definitions from the peer reviewed articles, you may find it useful to read the definitions of the terms in your course textbook and also supporting material from the library. Below is a database that could help identify basic information. Most entries are from academic reference books, such as specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Credo Reference Database

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. In addition to full-text content, it provides access to more than 1,000 videos and animations, as well as 500,000 contextual visual aids, images, photographs and maps.

Emotional Intelligence defined

Emotional intelligence and leadership behaviour. (2016). In R. Millar (Ed.), Ideas for Leaders collection. IEDP Ideas for Leaders Ltd. Credo Reference: http://zulib.idm.oclc.org/login url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/idealideas/emotional_intelligence_and_leadership_behaviour/0?institutionId=8633

Key Concept-- Emotional intelligence is our ability to control our emotions, understand the emotions of others and use this information to guide thinking and action – and it can have a huge impact on leadership effectiveness. In relation to the collaborative aspects of leadership in particular, emotional intelligence has been found to have a significant effect.