Don't forget to contact your Library Liaison. They are available to assist you in identifying publications and/or conferences that are appropriate for your research.
PUBLISHERS TO AVOID
Some journals have a bad reputation for publishing substandard research, or for preying on authors in a variety of ways, such as unusual publication charges for example. There are several lists of such "predatory" publishers floating around. Please keep in mind that inclusion on one of these lists represents the opinions of the list makers. We provide access to the link below to allow faculty to review the information and form their own opinion.
For more information on predatory open access publishing, please read the following resources:
Once you have made the decision to publish your research, then you need to where you want to publish it. If you decide to publish your research in a journal or present at a conference, you need to find out the following:
According to Encyclopedia Britannica: "peer review is a process whereby experts in a given field help judge the value of a relevant work or ideas that they were not part of creating. The primary function of peer review is gate keeping - selecting the best from a pool of submissions. It also serves, however, as a source of constructive criticism, whereby expert feedback by peers can be taken into account to improve ideas, research proposals, and papers" [Peer review. (2017). In Encyclopædia Britannica. Retrieved from http://academic.eb.com/levels/collegiate/article/peer-review/627766]
About BOOK PUBLISHING
Getting It Published by You need to select the publication that will not only publish your article, but get it in front of the right audience.
So, What is the best journal to publish in? - Check/ evaluate any given journal on the Scholarly Communication Toolkit
CLICK HERE for a comprehensive guide from ACRL on how to evaluate journals for quality
Suggested resources for finding good quality journals:
Provides information about journals including editorial reviews process, address, impact factor. Included are journal analytics for vetted journals and a list of journals to avoid. This is a ZU subscription.
Allows researchers to find journals related to their research by entering journal title, publisher or keywords/topics of the manuscript.
An Elsevier service assisting researchers to find preferred journals, including open access and subscription journals, with impact factor
Find relevant journals for your manuscript, verify against aims & scope, and submit
A publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). Includes information about Web of Science, SciELO, and Open Access journals
Refreshed and updated three times per year. This is a ZU subscription
Provides a list of all serial publications, with ISSN, address, publisher etc. This is a ZU subscription.
Helps in finding the right journal spanning all disciplines and regions
CONSIDER THE FOLLOWING:
1. Does your article match the journal?
In other words, is this a theoretical article? Practical? Short and newsy or long and complex? Does the journal publish case studies?
To determine if you article is appropriate, check out a recent TOC and also read through the journal's aims and scope. Read some of the abstracts of articles that are in recent issues and this will help you determine if this is a good match. Identify articles written by the leading researchers on your topic, what is their tone and quality?
Also, consider contacting the editor, they may provide advice on whether or not your article is a good fit (tip: send them just a short abstract, odds are they will not read a full article).
2. Who is the target audience?
Is this an interdisciplinary journal? Or a specialized journal? How well known is it amongst your colleagues?
Talk to your colleagues to get a sense of journal's popularity and who the readers are.
3. Discoverability, Visibility and Prestige of the journal.
Do a quick keyword search in one of your discipline's databases, does the journal show up? Is it near the top? What databases index this journal? Is available full text online or just in print? How well known is it outside of your field? Is that important?
How prestigious is the journal? Is it affiliated with an organization in your field? What do your colleagues think about the journal? Do they hold it in high regard? Have they published in this journal? Would they consider publishing an article in this journal?
NOTE: Databases such as EbscoHost and ProQuest also include journal lists.
