Listed below are more tools that you can use to help you track your citations and manage your research profile. Many are freely available on the web and others may cost a small fee. A small $ will appear next to the ones that you may have to pay an additional fee to access the data.
Elsevier Publishing Campus
The section offers advice on how to plan a successful research career, partly best achieved by also keeping Ethics in research and publishing in mind. Helps you identify relevant scientific information and combined with Writing and publishing resources, and improve your chances of getting published.
CiteSeer
Citeseer is a free website that indexes PostScript and PDF research articles in the field of computer and information science, and provides the following features:
- Autonomous Citation Indexing (ACI)
- All cited documents
- Reference linking
- Citation context
- Awareness and tracking
- Full details of the services provided are available.
To locate citations for your article, perform a search on a unique phrase from the article title. Citeseer performs fuzzy searching.
From your search results, click on the citation count to view a list of documents citing your article.
Note: Citeseer does not include self-citations in the citation count but lists them in the citation list.
Publish or Perish
Publish or Perish is a software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It uses Google Scholar and (since release 4.1) Microsoft Academic Search to obtain the raw citations, then analyzes these and presents the following metrics:
- Total number of papers and total number of citations
- Average citations per paper, citations per author, papers per author, and citations per year
- Hirsch's h-index and related parameters
- Egghe's g-index
- The contemporary h-index
- Three variations of individual h-indices
- The average annual increase in the individual h-index
- The age-weighted citation rate
- An analysis of the number of authors per paper.
Listed below are a mix of EBSCO and Proquest Databases that you can use to track citations.
- Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) includes: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics,arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies
- PsycINFO (Ebsco) indexes all areas of Psychology
- Communications and Mass Media Complete (Ebsco) provides research solutions in areas related to communication and mass media.
- Proquest Central serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels, featuring a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos
- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) includes in-depth coverage for over 3,040 publications, with more than 2,060 available in full text. Users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.
- Criminal Justice (Proquest) is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
