Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College of Natural and Health Sciences

A resource guide for Natural & Health Sciences and Public Health, and Psychology

The Research Process

Key research methods resources: 

  1. Methods Maphttp://methods.sagepub.com/methods-map- provides a research outline suggestions and more.

  2. What every researcher needshttp://methods.sagepub.com/ - explore this resources for an easier research process

Research Databases - a gallery

Academic Search Complete

Includes: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics,arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies

Health Reference Center Academic

Multi-source database providing access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources. Now available on all ZU campuses.

Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest)

ProQuest Health and Medical Complete combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. ProQuest Health and Medical Complete provides in-depth coverage from over 1,950 publications with over 1,660 available in full text and of these, over 910 include MEDLINE® indexing. In addition, the database includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research

ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos

PsycINFO 1887-Current (EbscoHost)

The PsycINFO database, American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,400 periodicals in more than 27 languages.

PubMed Central

A free service of the National Library of Medicine, includes a database of over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources

ScienceDirect

A full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.

Search Tips

If you start with specific, relevant searches, then your results will be more specific and relevant.


Multiple key words --> What is the best way to state my topic? Are there other similar keywords or phrases?

  • sustainability / "sustainable development" / "sustainable living" / "green movement"

Phrases in quotes --> Put phrases of 2 or more words in quotes, in order to search for the words together

  • "psychological effects"

Combine keywords --> How can I save time searching multiple ideas or concepts? 

  • (sustainability OR "green movement") AND "environmental protection"

Truncation   --> Are there variations on a root word that I can save time searching for?

 

  • sustainab* (searches for sustainable or sustainability)

    CITING YOUR SOURCES: Check the APA guide