Representing scholarship from more than 90 countries, the database includes articles, book citations, dissertations and theses. Coverage extends to related disciplines such as archaeology, anthropology and sociology. Coverage includes world history, military history, women’s history, history of education and much more.
This is a full text database that covers Arabic Studies, Middle Eastern Studies and Islamic Studies. It has over 85 full text titles in Arabic and goes back to 1990. Covering many major subject disciplines, it offers academic journals, magazines, trade publications, conference papers and industry profiles that are published in or pertain specifically to the Arab World.
This is a Google-like search box that will search almostevery resource in the library collection in one go.
"Women, Gender, and Terrorism" explores women's relationship with terrorism, with a keen eye on the political, gender, racial, and cultural dynamics of the contemporary world.Throughout most of the twentieth century, it was rare to hear about women terrorists. In the new millennium, however, women have increasingly taken active roles in carrying out suicide bombings, hijacking air-planes, and taking hostages in such places as Palestine, Iraq, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, Lebanon, and Chechnya. These women terrorists have been the subject of a substantial amount of media and scholarly attention, but the analysis of women, gender, and terrorism has been sparse and riddled with stereotypical thinking about women's capabilities and motivations. Contributors to "Women, Gender, and Terrorism" expand our understanding of terrorism, one of the most troubling and complicated facets of the modern world.
In this ground-breaking new volume, the social function of 'peace' is explored through the prism of cultural pluralism. Prominent scholars and thinkers from more than 30 different cultures reflect on the notion of peace, and the diversity of their perspectives highlights the different cultural perceptions surrounding the meaning and scope of peace.
Focusing on the 'soft power' aspects of foreign policy formation (as opposed to 'hard power'), Mabon draws a nuanced picture of the diplomatic and international relations between Saudi Arabia and Iran, and the ways in which each state has sought to attain a leading position in both the Middle East and Muslim world. Mabon therefore looks at the ways in which each state has a tendency to provide support for identity groups that threaten the security of the other regime, such as Iran's support for the Shi'a of Saudi Arabia, or Saudi Arabia's attempt to strengthen ties with the ethnic Arabs in Iran. With analysis of this heated and often uneasy relationship and its impact on the wider Middle East, this book is vital for those researching international relations and diplomacy in the region.
Political Science Complete contains full text for more than 530 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, including top-ranked scholarly journals.
The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 38,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
ProQuest Political Science gives users access to over 460 leading political science and international relations journals. This collection provides the full-text of 430 core titles, and hundreds of recent, full-text, political science dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities, as well as thousands of current working papers from the Political Science Research Network.
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines