LibGuides: Recommended eBooks on Study skills succes: Home

Check out these available titles on Ebook Central (ProQuest)

A* in Exams by Ross Dickinson
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781783725274
Publication Date: 2015-04-09
This upbeat, easy-to-use guide will show you how to organise your work, revise effectively and prepare for exam day to give you the best chance of getting that A*! Peppered with jokes showing how not to do it from the inimitable Richard Benson, author of F in Exams, this book includes: Preparing your revision environment Organising your notes Using the right revision methods Choosing reliable online resources Best practice for exam day Finding the best approach for YOU
Choosing College: How to Make Better Learning Decisions Throughout Your Life by Michael B. Horn; Robert Moesta
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781119570134
Publication Date: 2019-08-20
Cut through the noise and make better college and career choices This book is about addressing the college-choosing problem. The rankings, metrics, analytics, college visits, and advice that we use today to help us make these decisions are out of step with the progress individual students are trying to make. They don't give students and families the information and context they need to make such a high-stakes decision about whether and where to get an education. Choosing College strips away the noise to help you understand why you're going to school. What's driving you? What are you trying to accomplish? Once you know why, the book will help you make better choices. The research in this book illustrates that choosing a school is complicated. By constructing more than 200 mini-documentaries of how students chose different postsecondary educational experiences, the authors explore the motivations for how and why people make the decisions that they do at a much deeper, causal level. By the end, you'll know why you're going and what you're really chasing. The book: Identifies the five different Jobs for which students hire postsecondary education Allows you to see your true options for what's next Offers guidance for how to successfully choose your pathway Illuminates how colleges and entrepreneurs can build better experiences for each Job The authors help readers understand not what job students want out of college, but what "Job" students are hiring college to do for them.
College Bound by Ellen Trief
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780891287391
Publication Date: 2017-10-01
The transition from high school to college is a significant turning point in life, but it can come with unique challenges if you are a student who is blind or visually impaired. The revised and updated College Bound helps students prepare for their new life in college, develop useful skills, and negotiate for and coordinate appropriate services. This large-print guide also includes strategies for organization, time management, research, studying, and self-advocacy. You'll also find information about college application procedures, navigating the web, and assistive technology. College Bound provides a roadmap for a successful journey through college life.
How to Be a Student by Moore
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780335226528
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Helps students to tackle a range of challenges and opportunities associated with life at college. This book provides 100 actionable reflections, ideas, strategies, and tactics that can help readers to make the most of their time in college, such as developing study rituals, getting help when it's needed, getting to know librarians, and others.
How to Succeed at University (and Get a Great Job!) : Mastering the Critical Skills You Need for School, Work, and Life by Thomas R. Klassen and John A. Dwyer
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780774838986
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Going to university is an exciting time of life that involves many things: learning, meeting new people, making decisions, building relationships, and gaining greater independence. But getting a university education can also be a source of undue stress. What courses should I take? What program should I get in to? Will I get a job after graduation? It's easy to become discouraged, especially when you don't see what relationship studying Plato, Shakespeare, or Sartre has to the real world. How to Succeed at University (and Get a Great Job!) shows that the best preparation for success at life and on the job is succeeding at university. Giving oral presentations, working in teams, meeting deadlines, overcoming challenges, locating information, explaining events, writing well, and dealing with people in authority are essential in any professional job. These same skills are also vital for becoming a strong student. This book gives you advice and strategies, along with real-life examples, on how to improve the skills that guarantee success at school, work, and in life. More than that, by mastering these easy-to-learn skills, you will also have the time to enjoy all the other benefits that a university education provides. This practical guide is meant for university, college, and high school students, as well as instructors, guidance counsellors, and parents. In answering many of the questions that students and recent graduates have about succeeding in their courses and in their post-school careers, this book shows that the path from university to the real world can be straightforward and exciting if you know what you are doing.
How to Succeed in College (While Really Trying) by Jon B. Gould
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780226304670
Publication Date: 2012-04-02
After years of preparation and anticipation, many students arrive at college without any real knowledge of the ins and outs of college life. They've been focused on finding the right school and have been carefully guided through the nuances of the admissions process, but too often they have little knowledge about how college will be different from high school or what will be expected of them during that crucial first year and beyond. Written by an award-winning teacher, How to Succeed in College (While Really Trying) provides much-needed help to students, offering practical tips and specific study strategies that will equip them to excel in their new environment. Drawing on years of experience teaching at a variety of campuses, from large research universities to small liberal arts colleges, Jon B. Gould gives readers the lay of the land and demystifies the college experience. In the course of the book, students will learn how to identify the best instructors, how to choose classes and settle on a major, how to develop effective strategies for reading and note taking, and how to write good papers and successfully complete exams. Because much of the college experience takes place outside of the classroom, Gould also advises students on how to effectively manage their cocurricular activities, work obligations, and free time, as well as how to take advantage of the typically untapped resources on every campus. With candid advice and insights from a seasoned insider, this guide will leave students better prepared not only to succeed in college but to enjoy it as well.
How to Succeed in College and Beyond by Daniel R. Schwarz
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781118974827
Publication Date: 2015-12-21
How to Succeed in College and Beyond is an insightful, inspired guide to the undergraduate experience that helps students balance the joy of learning with the necessity of career preparation. Features a wealth of advice for getting the most from an undergraduate education, especially inthe areas of arts and humanities, written by an experienced educator and mentor Covers the entire undergraduate experience, from high school preparation, applications,financial aid, each undergraduate year from freshman to senior, junior year abroad course selection, and extra-curricular activities, to independent study, honors essays, graduate school, dissertations, and career searches Discusses the benefits of pursuing an arts and humanities degree including how to write effectively, speak articulately, and think critically and discusses how to balance the joy and practicality of education in terms of getting vocationally-focused qualifications. Packed with information that is as helpful to students as it is to their parents, teachers, and advisors, this guide is a indispensible resource for prospective and present undergraduates
Motivation and Learning Strategies for College Success by Helena Seli; Myron H. Dembo
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780367002060
Publication Date: 2019-09-12
Motivation and Learning Strategies for College Success provides a framework organized around motivation, methods of learning, time management, control of the physical and social environment, and monitoring performance that makes it easy for students to recognize what they need to do to become academically successful. Full of rich pedagogical features and exercises, students will find Follow-Up Activities, opportunities for Reflection, Chapter-End Reviews, Key Points, and a Glossary. Seli and Dembo focus on the most relevant information and features to help students identify the components of academic learning that contribute to high achievement, to master and practice effective learning and study strategies, and to complete self-regulation studies that teach a process for improving their academic behavior. Combining theory, research, and application, this popular text guides college students on how to improve their study skills and become self-regulated learners. New in the Sixth Edition: General updates throughout to citations and research since the previous edition Additional coverage of digital media and mobile technology, and the impact of technology on productivity Added coverage of metacognition and test anxiety, and consideration of non-traditional students Updated companion website resources for students and instructors, including sample exercises, assessments, and instructors' notes
Passing Exams for Dummies by Patrick Sherratt
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780730304449
Publication Date: 2013-07-22
Release your potential and get better exam results Do you panic at the thought of exams? Do you think you're just not the academic type? No matter how old you are, exams can be stressful--but they don't need to be. This essential guide provides expert tips on how to change your mindset, improve how you learn and revise, control your anxiety, and get good marks--whether you're studying at school, college, or university, or to advance your career. In Passing Exams For Dummies, you'll get hands-on, expert help to find out what motivates you and how you learn best; make your brain more receptive to incoming information and cope with exam pressure and anxiety; improve your reading style and condense your notes using visual mapping techniques; learn association techniques using memory pegs; use visualization to mentally and physically rehearse passing your exams; and more. Fully updated to reflect new research in how the brain thinks, learns, and remembers Information on the key role that astrocytes play in learning and the five key principles for rapid learning (attention, sensory input, solid effort, emotion and time sequence) that get these astrocytes engaged more quickly Reworking of terminology used in the model of the mind to bring the book fully up to date and simplify the content If you're preparing for a school, college, university, or career-related exam, Passing Exams For Dummies has you covered.
The Psychology of Effective Studying by Paul Penn
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781138570900
Publication Date: 2019-08-12
This book provides a vital guide for students to key study skills that are instrumental in success at university, covering time management, academic reading and note-taking, academic integrity, preparation of written assignments, teamwork and presentations. With each chapter consisting of sub-sections that are titled with a single piece of fundamental advice, this is the perfect 'hit the ground running' resource for students embarking on their undergraduate studies. The book uses evidence from psychology to account for the basic errors that students make when studying, illuminating how they can be addressed simply and effectively. Creating an 'insider's guide' to the core requisite skills of studying at degree level, and using a combination of research and practical examples, the author conveys where students often go fundamentally wrong in their studying practices and provides clear and concise advice on how they can improve. Written in a humorous and irreverent tone, and including illustrations and examples from popular culture, this is the ideal alternative and accessible study skills resource for students at undergraduate level, as well as any reader interested in how to learn more effectively.
The Secrets of College Success by Lynn F. Jacobs; Jeremy S. Hyman
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781119561866
Publication Date: 2019-03-11
Are you among the 22 million students now enrolled in college? Or a high school student thinking of joining them shortly? Or perhaps a parent of a college-bound junior or senior? Then this book is just for you. Written by college professors and successfully used by tens of thousands of students, The Secrets of College Success combines easy-to-use tips, techniques, and strategies with insider information that few professors are willing to reveal. The over 800 tips in this book will show you how to: pick courses and choose a major manage your time and develop college-level study skills get good grades and manage the "core" requirements get motivated and avoid stress interact effectively with the professor or TA prepare for a productive and lucrative career New to this third edition are high-value tips about: undergraduate and collaborative research summer internships staying safer on campus diversity and inclusion disabilities and accommodations ...with special tips for international students at US colleges. Winner of the 2010 USA Book News Award for best book in the college category, The Secrets of College Success makes a wonderful back-to-college or high-school-graduation gift -or a smart investment in your own college success.
Teach Yourself How to Learn by Saundra Yancy McGuire; Mark McDaniel (Foreword by); Stephanie McGuire (As told to)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781620367575
Publication Date: 2018-01-16
Following up on her acclaimed Teach Students How to Learn, that describes teaching strategies to facilitate dramatic improvements in student learning and success, Saundra McGuire here presents these "secrets" direct to students. Her message is that "Any student can use simple, straightforward strategies to start making A's in their courses and enjoy a lifetime of deep, effective learning." Beginning with explaining how expectations about learning, and the study efforts required, differ between college and secondary school, the author introduces her readers, through the concept of metacognition, to the importance and powerful consequences of understanding themselves as learners. This framework and the recommended strategies that support it are useful for anyone moving on to a more advanced stage of education, so this book also has an intended audience of students preparing to go to high school, graduate school, or professional school. In a conversational tone, and liberally illustrated by anecdotes of past students, the author combines introducing readers to concepts like Bloom's Taxonomy (to illuminate the difference between studying and learning), fixed and growth mindsets, as well as to what brain science has to tell us about rest, nutrition and exercise, together with such highly specific learning strategies as how to read a textbook, manage their time and take tests. With engaging exercises and thought-provoking reflections, this book is an ideal motivational and practical text for study skills and first year experience courses.
What the Best College Students Do by Ken Bain
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780674067479
Publication Date: 2012-07-16
The author of the best-selling What the Best College Teachers Do is back with humane, doable, and inspiring help for students who want to get the most out of their education. The first thing they should do? Think beyond the transcript. Use these four years to cultivate habits of thought that enable learning, growth, and adaptation throughout life.

كتب من AskZad

الوصف: يسعى الكتاب الحالي إلى مناقشة موضوع التعليم المتميز في الجامعة، حيث أصبح ضرورة تفرضها متطلبات العصر، وكيف يعد المدخل الحقيقي لمجتمع يسعى للنهضة مما يتطلب صياغة واقع تربوي أكثر جدة ويصنع ويقود التقدم الحضاري، ويتطلب رؤية فلسفية تربوية مغايرة تعبر عن عصر جديد وفلسفة مجتمعية جديدة. واشتمل هذا الكتاب على ستة فصول أساسية، تناول الأول واقع الجامعة وإمكانية التغيير الموجه للتميز. في حين تطرق الفصل الثاني إلى طبيعة التغيير الموجه نحو التميز في التعليم الجامعي، والبحث عن هذا المفهوم، وخصائصه، ودواعيه، المقومات والمعوقات والمتطلبات. وناقش الثالث تميز أداء الجامعة من حيث مرتكزات التغير الموجه نحو التميز الجامعي ومفهومه ودواعيه ومعاييره. وبين الفصل الرابع دور الجامعة التنموي في إطار التوجه نحو التميز، والتعليم الجامعي بين ترد الواقع وضرورة التغيير صوب التميز، وتحديات تحقيق الأمن التربوي في العصر الراهن، ومعايير التميز في مجتمع التعلم. وخصص الخامس لاستجلاء واقع الجامعات المصرية من حيث البيئة الداخلية والخارجية واستجلاء آراء أعضاء هيئة التدريس والهيئة المعاونة حول المعايير التي يمكن أن تقود الجامعة إلى التغيير الموجه نحو التميز. وعرض الفصل السادس رؤية مستقبلية للتوجه نحو التميز في التعليم الجامعي.

الرابط هنا

الوصف:يسعى الكتاب الحالي إلى الحديث عن الجامعة باعتبارها المستقبل المشرق الذي يتطلع إليه الشباب كونها محطة فارقة يبني عليها مستقبلهم. وتضمن هذا الكتاب الخطة المنهجية، الأبحاث العلمية، المهارات العملية، والنصيحة الواعية، والحكمة الصادقة بداية من كيفية اختيار الكلية من خلال التعرف على قدراته، ثم القرع على أبواب الجامعة، أهدافها، مستعرضًا نبذة تاريخية عن الجامعة المصرية. كذلك تطرق الكتاب إلى حاجة المسلمين إلى العلم، صفات الطالب المثالي، والمشكلات التي قد يواجهها الشباب في أول سنة لهم في الجامعة، وكيفية التفاعل مع المحاضرات، والنصائح العشر لحياة جامعية سعيدة.

الرابط هنا

الوصف:يسعى الكتاب الحالي إلى تحديد دور سياسة التعليم الجامعي في تحديد نمط العلاقة بين الدول المتقدمة والمتخلفة في تحقيق التنمية البشرية. اشتمل هذا الكتاب على أربعة محاور أساسية، تناول الأول طبيعة سياسة التعليم الجامعي، مفهومه، أهميته، فلسفته وأهدافه، ملامحه، مقوماته ومراحله وخطواته. في حين ناقش المحور الثاني طبيعة التنمية البشرية، مفهومه، أهدافه، أهميتها، آلياتها وأدواتها، مبادئها، متطلباتها، معوقاتها، ومؤشراتها الكمية والكيفية. وخصص الثالث لبيان علاقة سياسة التعليم الجامعي بالتنمية البشرية. وتحدث المحور الرابع عن القوى الثقافية المؤثرة في سياسة التعليم الجامعي والتنمية البشرية.

الرابط هنا

تناول الفصل الأول: مفهوم جودة حياة العمل من منظور العلوم السلوكية،وتم إلقاء الضوء على أبعاد جودة حياة العمل، ومدى اختلافات وجهات نظر الباحثين في هذا الصدد، والتي تتمثل في (فرص الترقي والتقدم الوظيفي –أسلوب الاشراف –الأجور والمكافآت –الرضا الوظيفي –الاتصال والتواصل التنظيمي)، والتي اعتمدت عليها بعض الدراسات السابقة واعتمد الباحثعلىخمسأبعاد ،ثم تناول المبحث الثالث أهداف جودة حياة العمل التي تؤدى إلى تحقيق العديد من الأهداف الفردية والتظيمية والمهنية والاجتماعية، ثم أهمية ومراحل وطرق قياس جودة حياة العمل.

الرابط هنا

الوصف:يقدم الكتاب الحالي دراسة لمجموعة من الأكاديميين تهدف ﺇلى التحقق من فعالية استخدام برنامج تدريبي قائم علي إدارة الذات لرفع مستوي الطموح الأكاديمي وتحسين القيم لدى طلاب التعليم الثانوي الفني، واختبار مدي استمرارية تأثير البرنامج نفسه بعد مضي شهر من تطبيق البرنامج لهذا الهدف تم استخدام ﺍلمنهج ﺍﻟﺘﺠﺮيبي. طبقت الدراسة المقدمة في هذا الكتاب ﻋﻠﻰ عينة قوامها (20) متدربًا منهم (10تجريبية +10ضابطة) متوسط أعمارهم (16-19 عام) وانحراف معياري (1.54) ﻭتم ﻗﻴﺎﺱ ﺃﺩﺍﺋﻬﻢ بواسطة ﻣﻘﻴﺎﺱ إدارة الذات ومقياس مستوي الطموح الأكاديمي ومقياس أزمة القيم ﻗﺒﻠﻴًﺎ وبعديًا، تم ﺍﺳﺘﺨدﺍﻡ ﺍﺧﺘﺒﺎﺭ ولكوكسون ﻟﻠﻤﺠﻤﻮﻋﺎﺕ المترابطة واختبار مان وتني للمجموعات المستقلة، لاﺧﺘﺒﺎﺭ صحة ﻓﺮﻭض الدرﺍﺳﺔ