Off Campus Access

Can't get in to any full-text library research databases

If you cannot get in to a full-text resource [you click on the database link and it asks you for a log on and password, but your ZU log on and password doesn't work]

  • Go to the ZU web page and select either the Student tab or the Employee tab and find Extranet and click on it and log in with your ZU log on and password.
    • If you want to access library databases, please click on the Library Databases link within the Extranet web links menu.
    • If backing out and going into the Extranet fresh doesn't fix your problem, help is available from the Reference Desk at 04 402 1702 (Dubai), 02 599 3840 (Abu Dhabi) during normal library hours.  After hours you should send an email to the Electronic Resources Librarian person to the left and they will get back to you on the next business day.

Can't get into one or several specific library research databases

If you can get in to some databases, but can't get into one or more specific databases, please send an email to the Electronic Resources Librarian to the left and they will get back to you on the next business day.

  • If you send an email, please include screen shots or screen captures of the error message you received when you tried to access a specific databases, and let us know which database you were having difficulties with.

Difficulty accessing articles or eBooks from an email

If you received an email from a ZU database, the library catalog, or Quick Find, you should follow the standard procedures for accessing materials from off campus.

  1. Log into the Extranet.
  2. Click on the Webmail link in the extranet web links list and log in.
  3. Open the email and now click on the article link or the eBook link - you should be able to access the full text now.
  4. If you still are having difficulties, help is available from the Reference Desk at 04 402 1702 (Dubai), 02 599 3840 (Abu Dhabi) during normal library hours.  After hours you should send an email to the Electronic Resources Librarian person to the left and they will get back to you on the next business day.

Can't open an eBook

You click on an eBook in the library catalog (or from a link in your email to a ZU library eBook) you can't see the full text, and it asks you for a log on and password and your ZU log on and password don't work.

Go to the ZU web page and select either the Student tab or the Employee tab and find Extranet and click on it and log in with your ZU log on and password.

  • If you want to access an eBook in our catalog, please click on the Library Home Page link and then open the library catalog.
  • If backing out and going into the Extranet fresh doesn't fix your problem, help is available from the Reference Desk at 04 402 1702 (Dubai), 02 599 3840 (Abu Dhabi) during normal library hours.  After hours you should send an email to the Electronic Resources Librarian person to the left and they will get back to you on the next business day.

Difficulty downloading an eBook

If you are having difficulties downloading an ebook, or a chapter, or certain pages of an ebook please review the downloading guides for Ebrary and Ebsco books below. 

  • If neither of those guides helps you fix your downloading problem, help is available from the Reference Desk at 04 402 1702 (Dubai), 02 599 3840 (Abu Dhabi) during normal library hours.  After hours you should send an email to the Electronic Resources Librarian person to the left and they will get back to you on the next business day.

Ebrary eBooks

This easy-to-use one-page guide will help you download books in our Ebrary collections.

EBSCO eBooks: Downloading to your ipad

This video will help you download eBooks to your ipad from our EBSCO eBook collection.

http://zu.libguides.com/c.php?g=125387&p=820911#s-lg-box-wrapper-2868789