Skip to main content

Arabic & Islamic Studies

A Subject Resource Guide for Arabic & Islamic Studies

Arabic and Islamic Studies Databases

These databases include journal articles and other documents related to Arabic and Islamic Studies. 

AskZad  All subjects covered in Arabic language. 100% full text. 350 Arabic newspapers, magazines and limited journals from 1997 onwards - most of the UAE major newspapers are covered, and it is very up-to-date. Includes articles and advertisements.

AlManhal is the leading Arabic electronic content service provider. It includes full-text of peer-reviewed and copyright protected Arabic publications.

eHRAF World Cultures Covers culture and social life topics. 100% full text.

Encyclopaedia of Islam The Encyclopaedia of Islam Online Edition combines a familiar look with fast and effective research facilities.

Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE  The 3rd edition of the Encyclopedia of Islam. This is a work in progress as the editors update the complete 2nd edition.

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an Drawing upon a rich scholarly heritage, Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an (EQ) combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur'an.

Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures  The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures is an interdisciplinary, transhistorical, and global project. It brings together upwards of 1,000 scholars to write critical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim, and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present.

GulfBase  Is a bilingual online source of financial information on the joint stock companies in the GCC countries.

Humanities Full Text  Covers archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary & social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.

Index Islamicus Part of Brill Online - covers Islam, Middle East. Includes work written about the Middle East, the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere.

Lexis Nexis Covers news, business, legal and medical/health - 100% full text. Updated by the minute, full-text, news archive (information from newspapers, news magazines and news broadcasts).

Pan Arab E-Books (PAEB) contains 23,483 digitized books as of July 2009 and is constantly adding content. Books cover a range of topics from Religion, Politics & Economy to Literature, Poetry & Arts and many other subjects. Authors are often highly respected professors from elite universities in the Middle East.

Pan Arab Dissertations (PAD) contains almost 7000 dissertations published by graduate students in the Middle East in any language.

Pan Arab Peer-Review Articles (PAPRA) contains close to 10,000 peer-review articles in both Applied and Social Sciences.

Pan Arab Conference Proceedings (PACP) covers approximately 50 Middle Eastern conferences, primarily Academic, and includes white papers, research presentations, etc.

Pan Arab Academic Journal Index (PAJI) contains full Arabic language indices of more than 700 Middle Eastern university-published journals and approximately 350 organization-published journals.

Pan-Arab Academic Journals (PAAJ) contains complete, licensed full content (with minor exceptions) of 165 Applied Science and Social Science Academic Journals published in the Middle East in any language. Most are in Arabic, but others are in English and French.

ProQuest Religion Search a comprehensive collection of journals covering religious issues and perspectives, including religious news and information, commentary on topics of general interest from the perspective of a particular religion, and formal theological studies.

Salah Al-Jasim Systems Database which covers U.A.E. Federal laws and the local laws for Abu Dhabi and Dubai in Arabic.

A Selection of Recommended Journals

Most Popular

  What if you don't have an article I need?

If there is a journal article or book that you need, and ZU does not have access to it, then try our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service!

Interlibrary Loan is the service that allows students, faculty and staff to borrow materials from other libraries in order to meet their study and research needs at ZU.

For more information and how to request items, visit our ILL page.