LibGuides: College of Natural and Health Sciences: Find Articles

Find Natural & Life Sciences Information - Getting Started

Click one of the following to find resources related to NSPH:

Books (print and electronic)
The library catalog is useful for finding information on ZU library books
Online Journals by title
Links to journals in specific subject areas related to NSPH

Natural Sciences and Public Health Databases

These databases index journals articles, newsletters, books, documents, and dissertations related to Natural Sciences and Public Health. For help with using any of these resources, please contact one of the librarians.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This is a great place to begin your search. The database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, at least 3,700 of which are peer-reviewed.
Emerald eJournals Premier This link opens in a new window
Emerald eJournals Premier is Emerald's most comprehensive, cross-disciplinary journal database, featuring the latest peer-reviewed, international research in both established and emerging areas of interests. Subject coverage of the journals includes marketing, human resource management, training, economics, hospitality management, quality, engineering, built environment, health services management, social care, accounting, and organisation studies.

JSTOR
Covers Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences - 100% full text. This is a unique digital archive of over 100 core scholarly (very academic) journals covers material from the 1600s up to a 'moving wall' of between 1 and 8 years before current publication
Lexis Nexis
Covers news, business, legal and medical/health - 100% full text. Updated by the minute, full-text, news archive (information from newspapers, news magazines and news broadcasts).

Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this database provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. The MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY via EBSCOhost now includes the MMY Archive, providing all yearbooks from the first edition in 1938 through the present edition, raising the total number of full-text reviews available to over 10,000.
PsycINFO 1887-Current (EbscoHost)
The PsycINFO database, American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,400 periodicals in more tha

ProQuest
All subjects are included in this easy-to-use database. Selected full text includes Business, Education, Psychology, Academic Research, Careers, Computing, Science and General Reference.
ProQuest Health & Medical Complete
ProQuest Health and Medical Complete combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books on these subjects: Nursing, Allied health, Physical therapy, Occupational therapy, Cytology,
Histology, Physiology, Anatomy, Gerontology and Geriatrics.
PubMed Central
PubMed, a free service of the National Library of Medicine, includes a database of over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources.
Science Direct
A full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.

Scopus
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and selected web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Social Science Full Text
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994.Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full text coverage begins in January 1995.

Why use articles?

Articles are useful for:

research related to your topic
often current and specific information
more in-depth information
peer-reviewed (scholarly) information -- often required by instructors!
bibliographies for further research related to the topic

NSPH Journal Resources

Extensive Online & Full-text Journals at ZU

Through our databases subscriptions at Zayed University, we have online and full-text access to journal titles. Follow these links for full- text access in the following subject areas:

You can search in our library catalog for any specific journal title, or Serials Solutions (which indexes ZU journal titles which are covered by our database subscriptions).

These links were compiled through Serial Solutions. If you need to search for a particular article, rather than browse the whole journal, select one of our databases.