Reference

This Companion is devoted to gardens of every kind and the people and ideas involved in their making.

Providing a wide range of technical information, the Companion also presents, in a concise and readily accessible form, the mass of recent scholarship on photography as a social and artistic practice.

Provides in-depth coverage of Western Art with entries on artists and their works, styles and movements, art forms and art terms.

A marvellously engaging tour covering the whole of modern science, from transgenic crops to quantum tangles.

Contains over 130 A to Z signed articles written by major scholars and experts from academic and scientific institutions and institutes worldwide.

Subjects covered include the structure of the universe, the evolution of galaxies, galaxy clusters, and cold dark matter. It deals with both theoretical ideas, such as alternative cosmologies, as well as the various types of observational evidence, including redshift surveys and cosmic microwave background radiation.

Unrivaled coverage of the Earth Sciences, from volcanoes to flood plains, diamonds to meteors, deserts to deep seas. All aspects of geology, including climatology, mineralogy, and oceanography, are covered.

An up-to-date, comprehensive, interdisciplinary guide to the range of issues surrounding natural and human-induced changes in the Earth's environment.

Covers every aspect of the seas and the vessels that sail on them, from shipbuilding, yachting, diving, and marine mammals, to tidal power, piracy, and the literature and language of the sea.

Presents an unparalleled history of the field invaluable to anyone with an interest in the technology, ideas, discoveries, and learned institutions that have shaped our world over the past five centuries.

Reflecting the development of global financial markets, the Handbook is a reliable guide for practitioners, as well as an invaluable companion for advanced students of finance, accounting, and business.

A comprehensive, up-to-date, and scientifically based guide to a variety of foods associated with good health.

All the major medical and nursing specialities are covered, and detailed attention is given to complementary therapies, national medical systems, and the historical development of medicine.

Provides concise and readable accounts of the structure and function of all the major systems of the body and the causes of disorders that affect them.

The Romantic Age is surveyed across all aspects of British culture, rather than in literary or artistic terms alone.

This title has tables giving years of rule and family relationships (in the male line unless otherwise indicated) for the reigning families of the world, from Horus Aha, first pharoah of Egypt, to Abdallah, present king of Saudi Arabia.

This authoritative and accessible guide to the British monarchy spans the Romano-British rulers of 55 BC to the present day House of Windsor.

Ranging from brief factual pieces to extensive essays, the entries examine every major war from the Revolution to the Persian Gulf; important battles from Bunker Hill, to the Alamo, Gettysburg, Little Bighorn, Normandy, and Khe Sanh.

700 authoritative articles written by hundreds of respected scholars from all over the world.

Covers people, institutions, and events that have shaped Australian society, politics and culture.

Over 1,200 entries covering all aspects of Australian military history.

Explores the subject from its beginnings in Roman times to the present day.

Covers all aspects of the history of Britain from 55 BC to the present day.

Provides an authoritative and comprehensive guide to the significant events, issues, institutions, places, and people that have shaped Canada from earliest times to the present.

An authoritative survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects. The Companion offers articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine.

1,800 A-Z entries explore Irish history from earliest times to the early 21st century.

Provides practical and contextual information for anyone enquiring into their English, Irish, Scottish, or Welsh origins and for anyone working in genealogical research, or the social history of the British Isles.

Entries on key topics such as intelligence, propaganda, tactics, women in the military, and peacekeeping are included, with over 70 maps showing the course of famous battles and campaigns.

Aims to cover more than 20 centuries of history, and interpret history broadly, covering areas such as archaeology, climate, culture, languages, immigration, migration, and emigration.

Contains the key figures, events, and structures that have animated U.S. government for more than 200 years.

Covers everything from Jamestown and the Puritans to the Human Genome Project and the Internet—from Columbus to Clinton.

Every aspect of the war is covered including, detailed surveys of major countries; politics and grand strategy; domestic and economic issues; resistance and intelligence services; campaigns, battles, and military operations; warfare and weapons; wartime leaders and influential people; and slogans and phrases.

The Companion features: the fundamentals of all the major areas of law such as criminal law, tax and social security law, human rights law, family and employment law, education law, sports law, international and EU law; the role and workings of legal institutions such as parliaments, courts, law schools, and international bodies such as the EU and the UN; leading cases, famous trials and distinguished lawyers, past and present; and major events in legal history and major debates in legal theory.

The volume takes seriously issues involving laws role in structuring decisions about governance, the significance of state and local law and legal institutions, and the place of American law in a comparative international perspective. Nearly 500 entries are included, written by over 300 expert contributors.

Examines the High Court of Australia’s public work, the Court’s role in Australian law, politics and society, and the Court’s inner workings.

An accessible and authoritative guide, essential for judges, lawyers, academics, journalists, and anyone interested in the impact of the Supreme Court's decisions on American society.

Each entry provides the United States Reports citation, the date the case was argued and decided, the vote of the Justices, who wrote the opinion for the Court, who concurred, and who dissented. More importantly, the entries feature an informative account of the particulars of the case, the legal and social background, the reasoning behind the Courts decision, and the cases impact on American society.

Presents more than 400 biographies of authors, critics, literary characters, and historical figures, and 150 plot summaries of major works.

Contains brief biographies of important authors, plot summaries of individual works, descriptions of important literary movements, and a wealth of information on other aspects of American literary life and history from the Colonial period to the modern era.

Gives accounts of the lives of many classical authors and character entries and plot summaries for their works. General entries trace the development of literary forms such as comedy and tragedy. There is also wide coverage of the historical, political, social, and artistic background.

Covers world fiction, historical context, writers, works, literary theory, allusions, characters, and plot summaries.

From the ogam alphabet in the 4th century, to contemporary writers such as Roddy Doyle and Seamus Heaney, there is a wealth of information on writers and their works, movements, genres, topics, folklore, and historical, religious, and cultural events.

Over 2,000 biographical profiles of important American authors (with information regarding their style, subjects, and major works) and influential foreign writers as well as other figures who have been important in the nation's social and cultural history. There are more than 1,100 full summaries of important American novels, stories, essays, poems (with verse form noted), plays, biographies and autobiographies, tracts, narratives, and histories.

Contains entries on writers, plays, novels, poems, newspapers, journals, anthologies, literary prizes, movements, and professional organizations. It also includes useful plot summaries, detailed biographies, and a number of essay-length articles on key areas, such as Aboriginal writing and science fiction.

Entries cover fiction, prose, poetry, drama, prominent writers, literary magazines, publishers, and more general topics. From The Apprenticeship of Duddy Kravitz to the Rebel Angles, Sandra Birdsell to Eric Wright, Caribbean-Canadian literature to War literature, this completely revised edition is an invaluable resource for anyone interested in Canadian literature.

Provides unrivaled coverage of all aspects of English literature ― from writers, their works, and the historical and cultural context in which they wrote, to critics, literary theory, and allusions.

Offers a comprehensive record of New Zealand writing in easily accessible form. It contains more than 1,500 entries on writers, novels, plays, poetry, journals, periodicals, anthologies, literary movements, and professional organisations.

A lucid, stimulating, and authoritative guide to Shakespeare's plays and poems, and their interpretation around the world over the last four centuries. Special feature entries on every play are included.

1,500 poets are covered from W.H. Auden to Benjamin Zephaniah. There is worldwide coverage, including America, Britain and Ireland, New Zealand, Trinidad and Zimbabwe.

Includes essays on the world's major mythological traditions (Greek, Native American, Indian, Japanese, Sumerian, Egyptian), along with retellings of better-known myths, and entries on mythological types, motifs, and figures.

This classic reference work is a gazetteer of almost 2,000 places - villages, towns, cities, and landscapes - in Britain and Ireland detailing their connections with the lives of famous writers. It invites the reader to explore the places where their favourite writers - from Jane Austen to Philip Pullman - were born, lived, were educated, worked, and drew inspiration.