COM372 - Communicating Tourism: Destinations and Heritage - Communication & Media Sciences

COM372 - Communicating Tourism: Destinations and Heritage

Finding ZU Books on Tourism:

Search the ZU Library Catalog to find books ZU owns. Remember to use strategies like truncation (touris*) in your searches. Be sure that you have LOGGED IN through the Extranet so that you can get access to library ebooks.

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search the Library Catalog for books, movies, and print journals and more available in the Abu Dhabi and Dubai campus library locations.

You can find books that ZU does not have by searching the LIWA Catalog:

LIWA (UAE Higher Education Library Consortium) Catalog: http://www.liwa.ac.ae/

LIWA is a shared catalogue of the Higher Colleges of Technology, United Arab Emirates University, and Zayed University. You can use this catalog to find books that ZU does not own, but are available within the UAE. Use your PIN to request these books.

If you can't find what you need in LIWA, then consult Worldcat to search libraries across the world: http://www.worldcat.org/

Encyclopedia of Tourism by Jafar Jafari (Editor); Rene Baretje (Editor); Dimitrios Buhalis (Editor); Erik Cohen (Editor); Frederick Collison (Editor); Graham M. S. Dann (Editor); Kadir H. Din (Editor); Eduardo Fayos-Solá (Editor); John Fletcher (Editor)
ISBN: 0415154057
Publication Date: 2000-12-21

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Includes: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics,arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies
Business Source Ultimate (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is a full text business database, providing full text for over 10,000 scholarly business journals, including more than 1,150 peer-reviewed business publications.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
Provides research solutions in areas related to communication and mass media.
Hospitality and Tourism Complete (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
This collection covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. It contains nearly 950,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 530 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books. Full-text periodicals include Asia Pacific Journal of Tourism Research, Current Issues in Tourism, International Journal of Tourism Research, Journal of Leisure Research, Journal of Sustainable Tourism, Leisure Sciences, and many more. Sources are both domestic and international in range and scope, with material collected from countries and regions such as Canada, Australia, Europe and Asia.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies (EBSCOhost)
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies, produced by NISC, is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa . This database contains more than 639,000 records and coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present.
ProQuest Central
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos

Euromonitor International's Passport This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor International's Passport is an integrated database that provides data and insight on industries, economies and consumers worldwide. It has access to internationally comparable statistics, full-text market reports and real time news analysis from industry and country experts.

Passport features millions of statistics and in-depth reports on 28 industries across 80 markets worldwide including the Mena region, with demographic, macro- and socioeconomic data analysis on consumers and economies in 210 countries.

Yearbook of Tourism Statistics by World Tourism Organization (Editor)
ISBN: 9789284417605
Publication Date: 2016-03-08
Understanding, for each country, where its inbound tourism is generated is essential for analysing international tourism flows and devising marketing strategies, such as those related to the positioning of national markets abroad. Deriving from the most comprehensive statistical database available on the tourism sector, the Yearbook of Tourism Statistics focuses on data related to inbound tourism (total arrivals and overnight stays), broken down by country of origin. The 2016 Edition presents data for 196 countries from 2010 to 2014, with methodological notes in English, French and Spanish.

No matter where your information comes from, you always need to cite your sources. The most frequently used citations have been compiled by the reference librarians on a webpage and handout (APA, MLA and Chicago). These can be found by visiting the library’s webpage.

APA Citation Style