Based on the print version of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate® Dictionary, Eleventh Edition. The online dictionary includes the main A-Z listing of the Collegiate Dictionary, as well as the Abbreviations, Foreign Words and Phrases, Biographical Names, and Geographical Names sections of that book.
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Includes Webster’s New World College Dictionary definitions; Business, computer, finance, idioms, legal, medical, and telecom definitions; Full Roget’s Thesaurus (synonyms); audio pronunciations; and more.
This invaluable global handbook contains separate entries for every country in the world. Each entry gives a succinct overview covering the contemporary social, economic, religious and political issues that shape the country. It also contains vital statistics such as GDP, life expectancy, income distribution, and internet use.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online contains over 80,000 articles – thoroughly fact-checked – on everything from A-Rod to Zebras. Contributors include over 100 Nobel Laureates plus subject gurus like Bill Clinton, Tony Hawk, and Desmond Tutu.
This encyclopedia features concise entries providing essential information on a range of subjects, including world affairs, science and technology, the arts, modern and ancient history, religion, sports, and popular culture.